More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Wipeout In the Zone Preview

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
05/26/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Arcade 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Comic Mischief, Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Okay, now it's just Avatar abuse.


I look upon Wipeout on ABC as the baby brother of Ninja Warrior, or Sasuke as it's known in Japan, a demanding obstacle course that tests the agility, strength, and coordination of one hundred competitors every year on Mount Midoriyama. Where Ninja Warrior has a mix of hardcore athletes and plenty of no-chance-in-hell cosplayers, Wipeout is a family-friendly, candy-colored playground full of moms and amusement park line-fillers who must conquer obstacles as terrifying as The Big Red Balls. My hands are sore just thinking about it.

click to enlargeSuitably, Wipeout: In The Zone is a Kinect-only fun-fest that encourages players to control their Xbox 360 Avatars by moving their body across dozens of obstacles, or be sent crashing into the water for an epic fail. And a replay and a replay and a replay... Controlling your avatar is fairly simple, but you need good coordination while focusing on the viewpoint of the camera as it switches from side-scrolling to behind-the-shoulder third-person for balance obstacles.

The pace your avatar runs across the stage depends on how fast you run in place, making sure you lift your knees so that the camera registers your movement. It's important to keep your avatar moving forward to lock in a low time when you reach the final platform, but for moments when you need to slow your momentum or refocus your attention for a jump (where you actually jump), you can put your hands out in front of you to have your avatar stop and step back. If you fail an obstacle too many times, you can also raise both hands to skip it and take a minute penalty (you quitter).

click to enlargeFor the most part, obstacles test your timing, whether that means nailing a windmill of platforms, dodging punches that pop out of a wall, or maneuvering across a gauntlet of rotating cylinders. For times when you are balancing on a beam, you will need to hold out your arms and lean side to side to keep yourself square. Leaning is also important when you're in the air, perhaps bouncing off the The Big Red Balls, to control your landing.

To complete the package, Wipeout: In The Zone will follow the Wipeout production including the hosts, their commentary, replays, and moments on the final platform where you pose and celebrate your victory. Look for Activision to release Wipeout: In The Zone for Kinect to coincide near the show's season premiere on June 14, 2011.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Wipeout In the Zone


More On GameRevolution