More Reviews
REVIEWS Freedom Wars Review
Questions of robot rights and dystopian ethics don’t often hit as hard as they do in Freedom Wars, though once they do core combat gameplay loops should have you enslaved.

PAC-MAN and the Ghostly Adventur Review
Is the entire Ghostly Adventures series, including the TV show, a prequel to the rest of Pac-Man’s life? Because in my childhood I seem to remember Pac having a girlfriend and a kid, not worrying about Pac-puberty.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Resident Evil Revelations 2 Preview
Capcom returns to the episodic format that entertained us in the first game of the sub series published on Nintendo 3DS and followed with a console release. What will Claire and company uncover this time?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES 6 Greatest Horror Games of All Time
Happy Halloween, GameRevolutionaries! Let's get festive and look back at some of the best games the horror genre has to offer.

Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP LinksOcarina This is another article from Blistered Thumbs I wrote, back from the dead after being buried in the way-back machine. I posted this back in April of 2013, and many of the issues present seem to be prevalent right now in some cases, namely the decrees of sexism and misogony. Considering current...

Wolfenstein: The New Order Preview

Alex_Osborn By:
Alex_Osborn
04/12/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Bethesda 
DEVELOPER MachineGames 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs

What do these ratings mean?

Have the Nazis won?

The Wolfenstein franchise is lauded among PC gamers as one of the most influential first-person shooters ever to grace gaming. Now, some few decades later, MachineGames hopes to do the series justice with a new entry of its own, subtitled The New Order

I got the chance to spend some hands-on time with the game at PAX, and I must say, it's clear that MachineGames has been carefully taking notes on what works and doesn't work within the confines of the FPS genre. With epic set-piece moments akin to Call of Duty, this game takes the best of what's already out there and wraps it within the skin of an alternate history World War II shooter. And guess what? It's an absolute blast.



My time with The New Order began in a crashing plane, as I fought to help the pilot fend off oncoming threats from the sky by manning a turret. It wasn't long before the sucker we were flying on went down, so we had to make a jump for it. That's right, we hopped from the wing of one plane to another in epic, over-the-top fashion. It's these kind of scripted moments that give Wolfenstein: The New Order a wonderful larger-than-life feel, as you control a hardened soldier named Blazkowicz.

After narrowly surviving the plane sequence and swimming to shore, it was boots on the ground as I fought to make my way up the beach, Saving Private Ryan-style; however, in this instance, there were giant mechanical dogs trying to hunt us down. After picking off my foes from a safe distance, all while keeping a close eye on my health, I made my way up to the stronghold, where our target, Gen. Deathshead, lay in wait. Our mission? Assassinate the general and put an end to his evil deeds.



I don't want to go too deep into story specifics in the event you want to experience the early parts of the narrative unspoiled, but I will say this: MachineGames isn't afraid to put you in uncomfortable situations. While at its core The New Order is a first-person shooter, there are also elements of choice that keep the story interesting. It's clear the team wanted to make a narrative-heavy game this time around, so buckle up because this new Wolfenstein tells a dark and depressing tale set in a world were evil has taken control.

If you're looking for a solid story-driven first-person shooter to sink you teeth into, you'll want to keep a close eye on Wolfenstein: The New Order for PC, Xbox 360, PS3, Xbox One, and PS4. While it may not be the most innovative shooter of 2014, it'll certainly pack a whole lot of fun and fleshed-out narrative to boot.
More GR previews for this game:
Wolfenstein: The New Order preview posted on 05/20/13.
Wolfenstein: The New Order preview posted on 05/20/13.
Tags:   PC, Xbox 360, PS4, PS3, Xbox One, PAX
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Wolfenstein: The New Order


More On GameRevolution