More Reviews
REVIEWS Persona 4 Arena Ultimax Review
Ultimax comes the closest to realizing my dream of an actual fighting RPG.

Super Smash Bros. (3DS) Review
Nintendo’s first brawler, combining characters from all over its universe, lands on a handheld for the first time and it sure packs a wallop.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Sunset Overdrive Preview
Microsoft and Insomniac Games have created a new open-world shooter with clear influences from Jet Grind Radio. We went hands-on with the first hour of the game.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP ryanbates
Respawning
By ryanbates
Posted on 09/25/14
I had planned to write something about the Borderlands series, but that will have to wait. I have something I need to get off my chest first. It's very personal, and I hope the two or three of you who follow my sparse blog will spare me this moment. I joked in my review for the bizarre...

Wolfenstein: The New Order Preview

Alex_Osborn By:
Alex_Osborn
04/12/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Bethesda 
DEVELOPER MachineGames 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs

What do these ratings mean?

Have the Nazis won?

The Wolfenstein franchise is lauded among PC gamers as one of the most influential first-person shooters ever to grace gaming. Now, some few decades later, MachineGames hopes to do the series justice with a new entry of its own, subtitled The New Order

I got the chance to spend some hands-on time with the game at PAX, and I must say, it's clear that MachineGames has been carefully taking notes on what works and doesn't work within the confines of the FPS genre. With epic set-piece moments akin to Call of Duty, this game takes the best of what's already out there and wraps it within the skin of an alternate history World War II shooter. And guess what? It's an absolute blast.



My time with The New Order began in a crashing plane, as I fought to help the pilot fend off oncoming threats from the sky by manning a turret. It wasn't long before the sucker we were flying on went down, so we had to make a jump for it. That's right, we hopped from the wing of one plane to another in epic, over-the-top fashion. It's these kind of scripted moments that give Wolfenstein: The New Order a wonderful larger-than-life feel, as you control a hardened soldier named Blazkowicz.

After narrowly surviving the plane sequence and swimming to shore, it was boots on the ground as I fought to make my way up the beach, Saving Private Ryan-style; however, in this instance, there were giant mechanical dogs trying to hunt us down. After picking off my foes from a safe distance, all while keeping a close eye on my health, I made my way up to the stronghold, where our target, Gen. Deathshead, lay in wait. Our mission? Assassinate the general and put an end to his evil deeds.



I don't want to go too deep into story specifics in the event you want to experience the early parts of the narrative unspoiled, but I will say this: MachineGames isn't afraid to put you in uncomfortable situations. While at its core The New Order is a first-person shooter, there are also elements of choice that keep the story interesting. It's clear the team wanted to make a narrative-heavy game this time around, so buckle up because this new Wolfenstein tells a dark and depressing tale set in a world were evil has taken control.

If you're looking for a solid story-driven first-person shooter to sink you teeth into, you'll want to keep a close eye on Wolfenstein: The New Order for PC, Xbox 360, PS3, Xbox One, and PS4. While it may not be the most innovative shooter of 2014, it'll certainly pack a whole lot of fun and fleshed-out narrative to boot.
More GR previews for this game:
Wolfenstein: The New Order preview posted on 05/20/13.
Wolfenstein: The New Order preview posted on 05/20/13.
Tags:   PC, Xbox 360, PS4, PS3, Xbox One, PAX
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Wolfenstein: The New Order


More On GameRevolution