More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Wolfenstein: The New Order Preview

Alex_Osborn By:
Alex_Osborn
04/12/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS  
PUBLISHER Bethesda 
DEVELOPER MachineGames 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs

What do these ratings mean?

Have the Nazis won?

The Wolfenstein franchise is lauded among PC gamers as one of the most influential first-person shooters ever to grace gaming. Now, some few decades later, MachineGames hopes to do the series justice with a new entry of its own, subtitled The New Order

I got the chance to spend some hands-on time with the game at PAX, and I must say, it's clear that MachineGames has been carefully taking notes on what works and doesn't work within the confines of the FPS genre. With epic set-piece moments akin to Call of Duty, this game takes the best of what's already out there and wraps it within the skin of an alternate history World War II shooter. And guess what? It's an absolute blast.



My time with The New Order began in a crashing plane, as I fought to help the pilot fend off oncoming threats from the sky by manning a turret. It wasn't long before the sucker we were flying on went down, so we had to make a jump for it. That's right, we hopped from the wing of one plane to another in epic, over-the-top fashion. It's these kind of scripted moments that give Wolfenstein: The New Order a wonderful larger-than-life feel, as you control a hardened soldier named Blazkowicz.

After narrowly surviving the plane sequence and swimming to shore, it was boots on the ground as I fought to make my way up the beach, Saving Private Ryan-style; however, in this instance, there were giant mechanical dogs trying to hunt us down. After picking off my foes from a safe distance, all while keeping a close eye on my health, I made my way up to the stronghold, where our target, Gen. Deathshead, lay in wait. Our mission? Assassinate the general and put an end to his evil deeds.



I don't want to go too deep into story specifics in the event you want to experience the early parts of the narrative unspoiled, but I will say this: MachineGames isn't afraid to put you in uncomfortable situations. While at its core The New Order is a first-person shooter, there are also elements of choice that keep the story interesting. It's clear the team wanted to make a narrative-heavy game this time around, so buckle up because this new Wolfenstein tells a dark and depressing tale set in a world were evil has taken control.

If you're looking for a solid story-driven first-person shooter to sink you teeth into, you'll want to keep a close eye on Wolfenstein: The New Order for PC, Xbox 360, PS3, Xbox One, and PS4. While it may not be the most innovative shooter of 2014, it'll certainly pack a whole lot of fun and fleshed-out narrative to boot.
More GR previews for this game:
Wolfenstein: The New Order preview posted on 05/20/13.
Wolfenstein: The New Order preview posted on 05/20/13.
Tags:   PC, Xbox 360, PS4, PS3, Xbox One, PAX
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Wolfenstein: The New Order


More On GameRevolution