More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Wonderbook: Book of Spells Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
06/09/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Sony 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Alcohol Reference, Crude Humor, Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

This A.R. game slaps all the others in the face.


The launch title for Sony's Wonderbook: Book of Spells is like a P.R. company's wet dream. It's a Playstation Move, augmented reality, edutainment title set in the Harry Potter universe with the cooperation, support, and writing of J.K. Rowling woven directly into the game. It's like a confluence of factors designed to allow Sony to print money at the start of a new product line. It's also a damn amazing game.

The Wonderbook is the size and shape of a children's book, but every page is full of A.R. symbols that inform the PS3 the position of the pages, so that it can display the data on-screen to turn the symbols into readible pages, images, and 3D models that can be affected in real-time by the Move controller or the player themselves. In Book of Spells, it becomes a children's textbook of spells as if the child were attending Hogwarts, complete with writing in the margins by prior students who had the book before. The game divides itself into chapters, each the length of the pages in the Wonderbook itself. The potential for interactive learning is endless.



The Move controller is a wand for Book of Spells and can lift text or images off of the book where they spring to life onscreen. Ignoring the advice of a previous owner of the book, tapping a troublesome dragon causes it to spring to life and burst from the book leaving a hole in the paper where it had been. It burns the pages of the book with its breath, and the user has to physically wipe the ash from the pages to be able to read them again.

Before learning the spell in the chapter, a pop-up puppet show on the next page showcases the story behind the spell. Not only is this animated, but the whole diarama can be turned and looked at from any angle in real-time. While the story plays out, the book tests reading comprehension by asking the player to insert the correct words into some key phrases of paragraphs within the text. The correct choice continues the story.



After reading the story, the player gets to learn the spell and test it in an A.R. scene that puts the player directly into the story. The spell we learned in the demo was a flame spell and was used to burn paper beetles, butterflies, and the troublesome dragon from earlier. In the actual game, missed spells can set objects in the classroom on fire, which reduces the score the player receives from their wizard class instructor at the end of the chapter.

The game weaves in morals and life lessons directly into each chapter and looks like a great start for what could be an extensive product library aimed at children and parents looking to make learning fun. If I were eight through ten, and I saw this, I wouldn't know what to do with myself. It should be releasing for the holiday season.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Wonderbook: Book of Spells


More On GameRevolution