More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

WWE All Stars Preview

Mike_Bryant By:
Mike_Bryant
01/20/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER THQ 
DEVELOPER THQ San Diego 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Alcohol Reference, Mild Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Simulation gets the smack down.


Spotlights illuminate the smoke spilling throughout the massive arena. Laser beams point this way and that as pyrotechnics erupt from the entrance stage. Massive beings with the muscle build of a draft horse walk out to the cheers or the jeers of the frenzied crowd. Wearing nothing but a bedazzled thong and done up like they are part of the latest fabulous Broadway show, these giant meat bags snarl and growl as they make their way to the ring. Ahh, pro wrestling.

click to enlargeNow with the spectacle that the WWE brings to its audience, who wants to play a simulation-styled, real, and gritty version of this entertainment-first sport? I don’t, and if you do, then I believe that you are missing the point. THQ gets it, and with that understanding in mind, they bring to you WWE All Stars.

The first thing that strikes you with All Stars is the heavy stylization that went into the character design. We all know that John Cena and Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson are big men, to say the least, but in All Stars their shoulders are easily twice the size of their heads. This immediately tells you that this is not going for realism; this is for fun.

The stylization does not end once you hit the ring. Wrestlers fly high as they do battle, juggling huge beasts in the air once, twice, three times if necessary. When thrown to the mat, they bounce ten feet as if they were on a trampoline. Streaks of color trail the wrestlers in slow motion as they execute the signature moves in their repertoire.

Coupled with this over-the-top craziness, the developers made sure to make the strikes and combos fairly easy to perform. Strikes are in two categories - punch and kick - which are further divided in to two categories - quick and hard. The combinations that branch from these strikes are many, as almost any button sequence will create one.

click to enlargeThe arcade feel that comes from this is uncanny, as matches can come down to who has the quickest trigger finger. Block and grapple buttons are there too, which can lead to some epic reverse and counter battles. A peel-away health meter adds to the arcade experience, as does the WWE All Stars arcade pad that the folks at Mad Catz have made exclusively for this title. Time to stretch those fingers and get your button-mashing on.

With this total arcade feel, the characters are a little more sophisticated then one would think. They come in four different types to represent particular styles. You got punchy brawlers; quick, jumpy, high-flyin' acrobats; submission-style grapplers; and big men who are just big. All these styles are represented in the character list, which spans generations as well as forms. I mean, what would an all-out WWE game be without the likes of the “Macho Man” Randy Savage or gone-but-never-forgotten Andre the Giant? The new generation is represented by Intercontinental champion Kofi Kingston and Irish stereotype Sheamus. The aforementioned “The Rock” and John Cena bridge the time gap. Jim Ross and Jerry Lawler give the commentary. (Who else would?)

The environment is totally usable. from throwing a player against the ropes and climbing the turnbuckle to grabbing the fold-up chairs and beating your opponent senseless. (Illegal, by the way. You get two warnings.)
You will be able to create your own characters as well, with all sorts of additions promised through DLC after the title is released.

WWE All Stars hits the mat on March 29th, so stretch those calves and get your spandex ready.
More GR previews for this game:
WWE All Stars preview posted on 01/20/11.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about WWE All Stars


More On GameRevolution