More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

XCOM: Enemy Unknown Preview

blake_peterson By:
Blake_Peterson
06/09/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER 2K Games 
DEVELOPER Firaxis Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Strong Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Enemy unknown.. unless, y'know, you played the original games.


X-COM: Enemy Unknown is the game that X-COM fans collectively wished would be made when X-COM first person shooter was announced: a turn-based, tactical squad-based strategy game with deep ties to the X-COM PC legacy. Ironically, a 2K P.R. representative told me that Firaxis' Enemy Unknown had been in development for several years before the FPS X-COM game being developed by 2K Marin was announced. At E3, 2K has been showing the game in a theatrical setting, showcasing the enemies and high-end abilities of the available squad members near the end of the game.



The presentation begins with the careful movement of a tactical squad already in position. Then the enemies are introduced, starting with the nefarious chryssalid, whose one-hit-kill starts the bloodbath that drops a team of five or six down to one in a single turn, and the soldier downed by the chryssalid is turned into one after dying. When the surviving member of the squad calls for evac, control sends in a Reaper Squad, who over the course of the war with the aliens have become more than human.

As a great joke, the Firaxis development team made the Reaper Squad commander Sid Meier, with a detailed character model. The Meier-commander uses mind control to take control of one of the enemy units to force him to drop an armed grenade at his feet, exploding himself. A jet-packed Sniper floats high above the scene to take out one chryssalid, and then with a bonus shot for delivering a critical hit, takes out the second. The final Reaper uses Ghost Armor to make himself invisible, zip up to the top of a building to take out the last alien, a Berserker, finishing the fight. Tit-for-tat, a turn later the enemies have been reduced to nothing by a tight tactical offensive.



The presentation highlighted how the game's turn-based tactical gameplay and careful use of character roles can lead to success, as well as showing off just how cool your squad can become in rising from a lowly band of humans on the run from the invading aliens to hunters themselves.

X-COM: Enemy Unknown looks like a great refocusing of the brand on the series' roots. It's slated to be released on PC, Xbox 360, and PS3 on October 9th, 2012.
Tags:   X-COM, Firaxis, 2K Games

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about XCOM: Enemy Unknown


More On GameRevolution