More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Yoshi's Woolly World Preview

ryanbates By:
ryanbates
06/23/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Platformer 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Good Feel 
RELEASE DATE  

As if the adorable Mario sidekick couldn't get any cuter...

Lost amongst the big, brassy reveals of Hyrule Warriors, Splatoon, and Super Smash Bros. for Wii U and 3DS were many quieter Nintendo announcements, but none of them were any less important. Slipped in amongst the reveals were long-awaited titles, unexpected entries, and unusual ideas, one of which featured everyone's favorite dino sidekick, Yoshi.

Yoshi's Woolly World, shown last year as Yarn Yoshi, blends the mechanics of the Yoshi platformer series with the yarn-based artistic style of the critically-acclaimed Kirby's Epic Yarn and produces a crapload of adorable. I mean, Yoshi registers high on the AWWWWWWW-meter to begin with, but as a knitted character? Let the squeals begin.

I was very happy to find that the familiar mechanics and gameplay of great games like Yoshi's Story were still retained in Yoshi's Woolly World. Yoshi still swallows up his enemies, but instead of turning them into eggs, they're turned into yarn balls which Yoshi can use to tie up other enemies, knit together platforms, or break down other parts of walls. My favorite element was that although the art style had changed, the platforming and puzzling challenge of the Yoshi's Story series remained, leaving me to scratch my head a couple of times while figuring out how to progress, with pleased exclamations once I did.

New to the series is the first opportunity for couch co-op, allowing a second Yoshi to join in the adventure. Co-op had a bit of a Battletoads-type feel to it; though players can't damage each other, they can get involved in each other's gameplay, including swallowing the other player in order to carry them around, shoot them up to higher ground, or just generally be a troll. The mechanic led to me and head honcho Anthony Severino shouting things loudly in public like, “Where the hell did I go?” “I think I ate you!” “Spit me out of your mouth!!” (Mrs. Severino, it's not what it looked like. We're just friends.)

Along with games like Captain Toad: Treasure Tracker and the recently-released Pushmo World, Nintendo has another title that proves cute can still be challenging in Yoshi's Woolly World. Anthony and I, for those who haven't seen our pictures, are both big, grown men, manly men, and yet Yoshi's Woolly World reduced us to giggling six-year-olds. It's ridiculously fun and unashamedly so. The yarn-style artwork looks like you can reach out and stroke it to feel its fuzziness. It actually makes me want a yarn Yoshi of my own. Though I'm sure it will be a target of ridicule, since those who like solid platforming action will have quite a tale to spin (pun intended) come the first half of 2015.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Yoshi's Woolly World


More On GameRevolution