More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword Preview

Josh_Laddin By:
Josh_Laddin
06/13/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E10+ Contains Animated Blood, Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Wii U? We don’t need no stinkin’ Wii U!


It’s hard to believe it’s been a year since we last saw The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword at the last E3, when it was little more than a tech demo that seemed to be Nintendo’s way of saying, “Look at this Wii-mote attachment that lets you swing a sword just like Link would!” It’s even harder to believe that it initially teased a year before that with a single piece of concept art.

click to enlargeBut here we are, with what very well may be the Wii’s swan song targeted for release in winter this year. The new demo was significantly more well-rounded, showing off a Quidditch-like aerial chase sequence to catch a bird before Link’s competitors, as well as a traditional Zelda dungeon sampling topped off with a boss battle for good measure.

The bird chase mini-game didn’t utilize the Wii MotionPlus for anything special, going instead with more traditional Wii controls: aiming to guide your mount’s direction, a button press for turbo boosts, and quick waggling to gain altitude. It seemed designed less to show off gameplay and more to establish Skyward Sword’s particular setting and aesthetics, with an entire civilization living carefree in a suspended cloud city. The characters and environment are drawn in SS’s impressionist art-style graphics, striking a balance between Wind Waker’s cartoony look and Twilight Princess’ more realistic models.

As for the dungeon, we got a chance to see how the MotionPlus affects swordplay… and it’s basically like playing Twilight Princess except, well, “Look at this Wii-mote attachment that lets you swing a sword just like Link would!” Of course, given that TP is my favorite Zelda game (don’t pelt me with rocks, OoT fans), it played like a joy. The enhanced accuracy with swordplay makes for an extra layer of strategy over the gameplay; for example, whereas you used to just spin those hanging spider enemies around to expose their bellies, you now have to knock them down and then give them an upward cut to the gut.

click to enlargeThe Stalfos now hold their swords in a defensive stance, allowing you to only slash them vertically or horizontally depending on the opening. That kind of combat was explored further with the dark elf-looking boss, who challenged us to a one-on-one swordfight. The key was to slash from a direction where he wasn’t parrying with his blade. As the fight went on and he used more elaborate attacks, we had to dodge his stronger moves and get strikes in on his exposed side after he paused for a breath.

As we start to gear up for the release of the Wii U, Skyward Sword will probably be the last big hit on the current system, because we all know the legions of Zelda fans will snatch it up like a precious piece of heart this holiday season.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword


More On GameRevolution