More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Zen Pinball 2 Preview

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
12/17/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Arcade 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER ZEN Studios 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Mild Language, Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The GamePad sure plays a mean pinball.

As much as I'd like to brag, I've never been very good at pinball. The machines in the pizza joint down the street from my house took quite a few quarters, but never offered the enjoyment I got from games like Microsoft's Space Cadet pinball.

With Zen Pinball 2, Zen Studios is hoping to bring that same whimsical approach to pinball to the Wii U (as they have on both PS3 and PlayStation Vita). Much of the game remains unchanged, but getting a chance to go hands on with many of the boards available at launch on Wii U gave me that Windows 98 feeling all over again.


First up was the Moon Knight table and a round of pass-the-GamePad with Blake Peterson. While the Zen Studios guy talked off-the-record with Blake about upcoming tables, I racked up a huge score and began knocking off the "missions" you can activate on any one of Zen Pinball 2's tables.

Moon Knight's rogues gallery took turns trying to defeat me, but it wasn't until after a multiball frenzy and a few completed objectives that Bushmaster finally took the white-hooded figure down. I handed Blake the GamePad and mentioned that Zen Pinball had always reminded me of Space Cadet and how Bretimus_v2's children had outscored me on the PS3 Spider-Man table.

Blake didn't last long and I was back in the driver's seat. With a better idea of what I was doing, I managed to clear further levels of the Moon Knight table and even rack up an extra ball.


Blake wasted it, though. That was fine, Zen Pinball 2 had already proven itself a worthy port, perhaps even better than you might find on the PS3 given that the entire game is playable on the GamePad while someone else is watching TV.

Zen Studios will be releasing their free download this month with 4-packs of pinball tables available for $9.99 or individual tables for sale at $2.99. Remember that we've got all your digital shopfront updates covered in our weekly round-up: The Download.
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Zen Pinball 2