More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

ZombiU Preview

KevinS By:
KevinS
06/07/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / FPS 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER Ubisoft 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

U know, they still move pretty slow.


And they're supposed to move slow. They're zombies, remember? But Nintendo and Ubisoft are pushing a unique twist on the zombie survival game: Let somebody control the horde of the undead in question. Enter ZombiU.



It's not simply a matter of survival this time around, although that's the main point of the campaign. ZombiU is meant to utilize two completely different playstyles between the different controller formats: The Pro controller is used akin to every other FPS controller setup on the market, and the GamePad takes a strategic point in holding down points on the map and making the survivor's life a living hell.

Visually, it's nothing to sneeze at, but it's still a notable step down from what the PS3 and 360 have powered through. But for a Nintendo game to not look like a real-looking cartoon, it looks great. The framerate is crisp as well, with no slowdown in sight, which helps the lack of superior power become more tolerable. The sounds are well done enough to set the stage, so with all of that combined with a unique take on what's fastly becoming a stale genre, this should be experienced firsthand.



There is a campaign mode too, but it's strictly a solitary fight. There is no co-op, but there is a fun, little friendly twist. When you die in the campaign, your character can come back as a zombie in your friend's game, and they can shoot you. It wasn't very clear about what all this can bring to the game from experience or helpful items or whatever (aside from the "dude, I totally shot your zombie ass" phone calls), but I guess we'll see when it's finally polished and sent out.

It's bloody, it's gross at times, and it's simple, but that's enough to keep my interest until the ZombiU is released at the Wii U's launch. Keep an eye out, since any new blood to the undead can stand a playthrough.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about ZombiU


More On GameRevolution