More Reviews
REVIEWS Astro A38 Wireless Headset Review
With the launch of the A38s, Astro has clearly shown that they can rock our eardrums off even if we aren’t sitting in our living rooms.

Destiny Review
With Bungie's leap to next-generation platforms and interstellar space closer to home, I wonder if E.T. is out there somewhere.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Skylanders Trap Team Preview
While younger gamers have flocked to the brand, more mature consumers remain reluctant to jump on board. Skylanders move forward with trappable enemies, though I doubt it’ll turn stubborn heads.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Zone of the Enders HD Collection Preview

Vince_Ingenito By:
Vince_Ingenito
10/03/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER Kojima Productions 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Blood, Mild Language, Partial Nudity, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

What is a Jehuty, you ask?


Can someone tell me where all the giant robots have gone? I mean, this is the gaming world! I shouldn't be able to turn my head without getting bitch-slapped by an EVA. Remember Armored Core, Front Mission, Sakura Wars, and Mech Warrior? And that's to say nothing of countless other franchises and one-off titles that starred giant, walking/flying/hovering death machines. I guess I like shooting zombies and terrorists with generic, real-world weaponry well enough, but I still find myself longing for jump jets, rail cannons, and laser swords.

It was this long-starved robo-lust that caused me to light up when I received a preview build of Konami's upcoming Zone of the Enders HD Collection. While it received mixed reviews from critics of the day, ZoE has reached cult classic status over the years and I was excited to re-experience the first, and play the sequel, The 2nd Runner, for the first time.



But hungry as I was for some hot frame-on-frame action, I'm a tad disappointed with how ZoE1 has held up, or more accurately, hasn't. The sharpening and cleaning afforded to it by modern tech has only highlighted how sparse and sterile the environments around you truly are. The design of your robot, Jehuty, is as iconic as ever though. It looks and moves like a leaner EVA Unit-01 and that sense of agility and ferocity still translates well in terms of gameplay. ZoE's claim to fame at the time was its speed compared to other mech-based action games of the day, though with the field so thin as it is now, the comparative impact is tough to see.

Without the whiz-bang factor working for it, its stop-and-go pacing and painfully voiced characters grate even more than they did when I played it at release. Jehuty's pilot might be even whinier than Shinji Ikari (totally possible), and has far less reason to be. And his shy, would-be girlfriend is no Rei Ayanami either. Both VO's were insufferable back when the game was visually impressive, but now? It just drives me to drink. Yes, killing people is wrong, even if they want to kill you, I get it kid. Please go blow something up before my buzz wears off?



Thankfully, The 2nd Runner fares far better. I missed it when it hit store shelves in 2003 and it's since become something of a rarity, consistently commanding a price on Ebay that I wasn't prepared to pay. Not only has time been kinder to it visually, but the combat is enhanced and the pacing rectified. It sheds most of the adventure-ish, pseudo-exploration of the original and streamlines it into a cohesive action game. And as an action game, it can still entertain today, allowing a freedom of motion along three axes in a way very few games ever have. Sure, the story isn't really any better, but unlike the first, you spend more time fighting than wandering about and sitting through cutscenes, so it all comes out in the wash. As a bonus, this re-release also includes content from the Europe-only special edition, making it available to North American fans for the first time.

All this said, there's an imagination behind the franchise that I still find alluring. This is an odd choice for an HD remake because it was neither a critical darling nor a smash commercial success. Zone of the Enders is an IP that garners an inexplicable love and fascination, and for me, it still does, flaws and all. I have a feeling other fans of the series will feel the same way, especially when they first boot up to see the new animated opening set to the still breathtaking “Beyond the Bounds”a track so thoroughly good that, even having never previously played the game it came from, was familiar to me.



The 2nd Runner and a Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance demo alone should justify the $40 price tag for series fans, but based on what I've seen, I'm not sure this collection is going to rope in new players. I guess we'll see when it hits retail on October 30th.

PS: Am I the only person who wants a Chrome Hounds sequel?     
More GR previews for this game:
Zone of the Enders HD Collection preview posted on 10/03/12.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Zone of the Enders HD Collection


More On GameRevolution