More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus Review
I had no idea there was that much silicon in Japan. But it only makes the balance that much more impressive, doesn't it?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Super Smash Bros. (Wii U) Preview
Anyone brawling at home will find plenty to love in the latest console version of Nintendo’s franchise, though amiibo figures lend a layer of ownership not seen before.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Assassin's Creed Rogue
Release date: 11/11/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Armorines: Project S.W.A.R.M. Review

By:
Robert_Amsbury
02/01/00
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 00 
PUBLISHER  
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Animated Blood, Animated Violence

What do these ratings mean?

This time WE get to fix the Bugs!

And it's about time, too. Why do gigantic bugs always decide to make Earth their next meal? From Starship Troopers to the classic Them!, bugs have always had it in for us humans.

Armorines drudges up this theme once again, this time as a first-person shooter. I enjoyed playing this game and it answered a few questions for me, but in the end doesn't really do anything new.

Let's talk about those questions. One question I've been asking myself for a long time is this: When rapacious aliens invade the planet, why is it that they choose to sneak around in dark, creepy places, avoiding the light of day? If all they wanted was a dark hole, why not just grab an unpopulated rock somewhere? They couldn't possibly have run out of those.

The answer, of course, is that game designers seem to think their games are creepier if you can't see what the heck you're doing. They're wrong, of course. I think that statement is borne out by the fact that when I went looking for screenshots, all of them were from Armorines' fourth level, which takes place in the desert. Deserts are notoriously bright and shiny, and yet even in such a setting the giant space bugs are pretty darn gruesome. Especially when you get up close and personal with them.

There are actually a couple of other attempts in this game to get around the "Dammit, I can't see anything!" phenomenon. First off, you can find a pair of IR Goggles. Everything you see is bluish (hey... there's a thought... anybody tried to license a "Yellow Submarine" game yet?) except for the aliens, and your weapon no longer target locks, but at least you can see what's going on. This is actually a really important feature in a few areas.

Theres another visual trick as well: at the end of the first level, you are given a couple of cheat codes, one of which, called "Pen and Ink Mode," allows you to play the game without the graphic overlays. I find it kind of amusing to play as a line drawing - plus, it's definitely a good way to see everything that's going on.

This brings me to another question. Is it really a cheat code if the game GIVES it to you and there's a special menu for turning it on and off? I suppose it's probably some twisted form of reverse psychology. I mean, how many people would actually go out and buy a game that you were SUPPOSED to play without high-rez textured graphics. (Well, okay, I remember lots of them, but the industry has evolved.)

The sound is pretty decent. Good ambient noises, a soundtrack that I haven't yet disabled (rare, believe me), and I really appreciate the fact that the mercilessly rampaging aliens can't sneak up on you (even the invisible ones are audible). If you hear a rustling sound, check your radar - you're about to be lunch.

Hey, there's even a viable story line. And, for added kicks, if you find a dead body lying around, you can shoot it and watch the limbs go flying...

Of course, it's not all guts and glory. The humans you encounter are either scared out of their wits and running for cover (which isn't all bad, come to think of it) or they follow you around like a puppy dog and get in your way. Too many times I've wound up blowing away troopers who walked across my line of fire. Haven't these yahoos ever heard of firing from cover? Their shots wouldn't even put a dent in my metal-clad butt. Oh well.

The control system is fine. However, the weapon selection set-up could have used a little more thought. I'd have been happier with just using one button to flip through available choices.

One other thing I don't care for is the level exit mechanism. You can use the exit to a level as soon as you find it (and you frequently won't actually KNOW it's the exit until you step into it). Of course, if you get there before you've completed your objectives for the level, you must re-do the whole area. This is particularly annoying in the longer segments.

The multi-player is similar to that 'other' Acclaim shooter, Turok. You've got Co-op mode and Deathmatch levels for up to 4 players. One of the Deathmatch options is called "Brood Wars" and lets you play as the bugs. This isn't as fun as it sounds. For some bizarre reason, when you're a human controlled bug, you can't climb walls anymore. What you actually get is just a different graphics set (which only your opponents can see, anyway). Oh well.

Like I said at the beginning, I had fun playing Armorines. The graphics and sound are good, and the plausible plot is refreshing. Not an epic, to be sure, but fun anyway. Anybody want to tell me if it was worth turning into a comic book? I just couldn't bring myself to pick it up.

B Revolution report card
  • Wallcrawling Alien Bugs
  • Exploding Corpses
  • Pen and Ink Mode!
  • Brain Dead Stooges
  • Early Exits
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Armorines: Project S.W.A.R.M.


More On GameRevolution