More Reviews
REVIEWS Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Review
Does Beyond Earth lead humanity to a better world or into a nest of aliens?

Screencheat Review
The first FPS in history where looking at your friends’ screens isn’t cheating; it’s a requirement.
More Previews
PREVIEWS NHL 2K Preview
NHL 2K has a timely return on mobile devices for your on-the-go hockey fix.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Disney Fantasia: Music Evolved
Release date: Out Now

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
Release date: 11/04/14

Far Cry 4
Release date: 11/18/14

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Release date: 11/18/14


LATEST FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

PlayStation Download October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's PSN platform had new games each week along with free offerings for PlayStation Plus subscribers. Take a look at the weekly additions for October.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
I Don't Want to, but I Have To...
By oblivion437
Posted on 10/20/14
Well, Gamergate has spilled over into the mainstream media and the coverage appears to be nearly uniformly dreadful. Take " What is Gamergate, and What Does It Say About Gender In Video Games? " by David Konnow as an example.  It appears that the writer has done little to no...

Army Men Review

Mark_Cooke By:
Mark_Cooke
06/05/98
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER 3DO 
DEVELOPER 3DO 
RELEASE DATE  
MINIMUM SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
E Contains Animated Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Wait... you mean this game isn't for the Atari?

In the game industry, this kind of a game event doesn't occur very often. In this era of light sourcing and 3D acceleration, it's rare that we see a game with a story that is much better than the graphics.

Normally, we here at Game Revolution would have praise for this kind of an attempt at an immersive experience. Unfortunately, the gameplay in Army Men is so bad, it is impossible to overlook. Like I said, it's a rare scenario.

The story for Army Men rocks. You remember those little green, tan, gray, and blue little plastic toys you used to play with? Even if you don't, the game comes packaged with two of them that will help you remember (in fact, I think I'd rather play with the toys than play Army Men). Personally, I remember setting up grand scale battles between the miniature men. The story is set up brilliantly - the Green's are attacking the evil, tyrannical Tan's. Blue and Gray are supposed to be neutral, but these groups sometimes help Tan, and sometimes help Green. In a complicated story of backstabbing and trustworthiness, little toys go head to head in plastic death.

The gameplay doesn't quite pan out the same way. In three different environments, Desert, Alpine, and Bayou, each containing four different missions, you must attack and destroy the evil Tan invaders. Don't let anyone trick you into thinking this is a real-time strategy game. You control one unit, Sarge, who has his own array of weapons and moves. You can call other soldiers in to help you, but you still only control Sarge. So instead of getting to set up large battles, you control one soldier. Quite boring.

On the plus side, you can drive vehicles. On the minus side, the novelty of running over Army Men (admit it, you put them under car tires when you were a kid) wears off quickly. Simply put, there was absolutely no fun involved in playing the game.

The in-game graphics are outdated. Lacking both style and substance, they seem unprofessional. On the other hand, the cut-scenes are really good -- they look like old newsreels, except they have little plastic men moving around and talking. These small intermissions really add to the story while making the gameplay look worse and worse at the same time. And to add insult to injury, the sound and music suck too. What are supposed to be radio communications between you and the base come off as garbled static. Gun noises sound like they were made by a guy saying "Pkow! Boom!".

The whole game has a distinctly amateur feel. It might have been great on my 386, but now it's just an old mess. The multiplayer mode may be the game's only saving grace. Although it only has a four-player maximum, which is disappointing, it contains two different methods of play. The tried and true deathmatch mode, as well as capture the flag. Deathmatch is boring but capture the flag can be fairly fun. You can play modem to modem, over the internet, or on a LAN, so at least the method of play isn't limiting.

Legions of grown ups that were anticipating this game so that they could venture back to their childhood will be deeply disappointed. If you want to play a boring, tiresome game that seems like it should have been made 8 years ago, be my guest. But for everyone else, I suggest not touching this one with a 20-foot stick!

D+ Revolution report card
  • Not fun
  • Horrible graphics
  • Terrible Music/Sound
  • Can't melt their heads with a magnifying glass
  • OK multiplayer
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Army Men


More On GameRevolution