More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Assault: Retribution Review

Tim_Hsu By:
Tim_Hsu
12/01/98
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Midway 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE Out Now

Half-toasted and barely alive...What a great day!

Where has all the time gone? It seems like just yesterday me and all my buddies were playing Contra on the original Nintendo 8-bit system, wrestling each other for the control pad, calling my Mom every half-hour and begging her to let me stay a little longer. A lot has changed in the last 12 years; Nintendo's gone downhill and all my high-school chums are either gone or married. The only two things that remain the same are the facts that Contra is still a blast to play and that I still have to call my mom if I'm staying at a friend's house past midnight (how sad. - Ed.).

Granted, I've burned about a zillion brain cells since I was introduced to Contra, but I still vividly remember playing Contra: Hard Corps on the Genesis. Great game, great choice of characters, and excellent graphics for a 2D scroller.

Assault: Retribution is the latest Contra clone to hit the Playstation. Although it's a polygonal 3D game, it plays very much like its 2D predecessors; there's a prescribed path you must follow to the end of the level. Player moves are also straight from Contra; aiming your weapon up and down, and hanging from the ceiling.

I found the old tried-and-true gameplay to be just as much of a blast as it ever was. However, Assault is just way too easy. On the easiest level, you could finish the whole game in less than three hours. A higher difficulty setting basically means that you have less "continues" to work with.

Most of Assault is just blasting your way through a level, but there are a few places where you do some platform-jumping or hanging from something. There's a good variety of blasting and jumping to keep you interested for a while, but like I said, just too easy.

There is some nice variety in the gameplay. On one level, you're trying to outrun a massive naplam blast all while shooting enemies and dodging obstacles (much like the first level of Brave Fencer Musashi). There's another really cool level where you're on a speeder-bike thing. These levels are a nice break from the regular gameplay.

However, the bosses leave much to be desired. All of them are really easy to beat and the graphics don't look especially inspired. I expected boss fights to be of the "find the weak spot" variety and while few of them are, they're still no match for your vast arsenal of special weapons. Most boss fights follow the pump-em-full-of-lead-until-they-flash-and-disappear plan.

The graphics in this game look dated, like a game that should've come out a few years ago. It gets very blocky in some places and the FMV, while decent, doesn't look as spectacular as other games I've seen.

True to the Contra series, Assault also supports two-player simultaneous action. Sounds good, but plays like crap. The engine gets so bogged down with all the movement on the screen that it's barely playable unless you like watching your game in slow-mo. This game should've stayed as a 1P offering, as the engine can barely handle places where bullets and monsters are flying all in directions.

Although I found Assault: Retribution to be at times a fun game to play with decent replay value, seasoned gamers are going to be left wanting more. It does a good job keeping the Contra tradition alive, though. But if you haven't checked out Apocalypse yet, do that and save Assault for a rental.

C+ Revolution report card
  • Plays like Contra!
  • Decent graphics; blocky in places.
  • Game slows down heinously.
  • Too short. Too easy.
  • Can't go wrong with a rental.
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Assault: Retribution