More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Awesomenauts Review

KevinS By:
KevinS
05/14/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE MOBA 
PLAYERS 1- 6 
PUBLISHER DTP Entertainment 
DEVELOPER Romino Games 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Violence, Blood, Use of Tobacco

What do these ratings mean?

2D domination for a modern age.


I'm a bit wary of online-only titles. What if I can't connect to the Webbernet? What if I have no friends? Why do I have so many concerns and why don't I just play the damn game already and stop typing the thoughts that enter my mind? Thank you, voice in my head, I'll download Awesomenauts and give it a shot!

In a flurry of claw-swipes and short-range gunshot wounds, Awesomenauts is the embodiment of a two-dimensional landscape with Fat Princess battlecries… minus the munchies. First, you choose one of the variety of characters, each with a specialty, and choose from a group of 20 power-ups to offer your fighter in the middle of battle (three can be chosen from each category, so only 12 are available during a match). With six fighters, it's surprising that each does feel genuinely unique, but they all stand on their own.



It's a cliché among games of this style, but it does appear to be a cartoon. As its primary focus is online play, the single-player "Practice" mode is easily beaten most every time it's played. I guess that works for a warm-up, and if you've downloaded the game, the assumption is you can play it online, but it's something to be wary of if you're like me and your connection is in jeopardy. The single-player practice mode is just that: practice. It offers very little challenge, so it's time to find some friends.

I would've liked more maps to play from the onset, even unlockable ones, but it's apparent that this is a title that upgrades over time. With the slim pickings of battlegrounds to start (only three or four by my count) it's easy to figure out attack strategies just from the first moments of being fired out of a rocket ship to the planet below. I can understand prepping a game like this for DLC, but really? It's a bit reminiscent of what gamers went through with Ridge Racer Vita, but thankfully not for a full-price retail product.



Thankfully, there's a ton of strategy with the characters already in the game. They each have their own strengths and weaknesses, almost to the point of "Rock, Paper, Scissors, Lizard, Spock" (but with one more, maybe Sylar from Heroes?). I would've liked some matchmaking since regular players might be intimidated to play much after a few rounds with some of the devout runners I've found, but it's a satisfying win if you can pull it out (especially when the hardcore bastards constantly taunt you after killing your sprite). Rub their nose in itI sure as hell did!

While Awesomenauts is a basic gameattack and destroyit's a great online-only brawler to share with friends.  I do worry about when the shininess starts to tarnish, as they'll need to update this consistently to keep players playing, but it's a good start especially for only 800 MS points.

Code provided by publisher. Review based on Xbox 360 version.
Awesomenauts
fullfullfullfullempty
  • Easy to pick up
  • Deep, yet simple, combat
  • Drop-in, drop-out battles
  • Bare, but DLC incoming
  • Very limited number of maps
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.


Tags:   XBLA, PSN

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Awesomenauts
Also known as: awesome nauts


More On GameRevolution