More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Backbreaker Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
06/01/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER 505 Games 
DEVELOPER NaturalMotion 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Tobacco Reference

What do these ratings mean?

It's Maddening.


Gamers have come to expect quite a bit from their $60 investment. We've learned to expect a fully fledged single-player experience, a multiplayer mode, and possibly even options for customization. A game is rarely worthy of our hard-earned cash if it doesn't have all of these features, especially a sports title. But though Backbreaker has all of these obligatory features, that fact alone still doesn't guarantee worthiness.

click to enlargeBackbreaker is the football sim, developed by Natural Motion, that doesn't need the licensed teams of the NFL. You might recognize Natural Motion as the developers of the Euphoria physics engine that powers games like Grand Theft Auto IV and Red Dead Redemption and the flailing limbs of Stormtroopers in Star Wars: The Force Unleashed. This engine is Backbreaker's biggest shot at a favorable comparison to EA's Madden franchise.

It's pretty much impossible to review Backbreaker without mentioning Madden, so I've pretty much given up on that endeavor. Natural Motion's Euphoria engine allows tackles to be animated on the fly. Madden's use of "canned" animations can look awkward at times, while Backbreaker's tackles may never look the same twice. This is actually totally true. Pile-ups, fumbles, tackles, and stiff arms all look great and that actually makes successful plays really empowering, not to mention fresh.

Backbreaker also utilizes a wealth of customization options. Being able to alter every single team in the game and create your own teams can be fun, if you have the time. In fact, you could even create the NFL teams (don't sue me)! Let's be honest with ourselves, though. The first thing I did when I started forging my own team was calling my hometown a vulgar word. Next, I named the team itself a vulgar word. If I had the energy, I probably would have named each and every player, including the benchwarmers, a different curse word. A mind bending exercise if there ever was one.

So cursing is fun, but what about the game itself? Things don't look good when simple curse words are this high on the list.

click to enlargeBackbreaker makes some other choice changes to Madden's proven, and admittedly tired, formula. The first thing players will notice is the camera angle. Instead of a wide-angled, overhead view, a close third-person perspective is employed to give the game a more action-oriented slant. This can be one of two things: entertaining or infuriating. At first glance, this perspective is kind of neat, especially when you're running the ball aggressively causing the camera to shake back and forth. Unfortunately, in the passing game, this camera can be extremely frustrating and limiting. The player has to push the right stick to select receivers before chancing a pass.

Problems with passing don't end there. I don't pretend to be a football fanatic, but after spending hours upon hours with the game, I would still consistently throw interceptions every other play. Luckily, the computer is always throwing interceptions as well. This kind of action fumbles the successful feeling the tackling system left me with.

But among the worst of it all is the lack of presentation. Nearly every football player looks the same. Their uniforms look like they're made from plastic. Referees have been transformed into Jumbotron cut-scenes. There are no coaches or players on the sidelines. And the crowds are comprised of the same four people copied a million times over.

Backbreaker would be better served as a title for a wrestling game. Having all the modes gamers expect is a good maneuver, but without the proper backfield, it's a move that fails to reach the end-zone. I can't imagine Backbreaker really taking any players away from the Madden franchise. If you're desperate to play some video game football, Backbreaker will briefly satisfy those cravings, though it won't keep them at bay for long.



D+ Revolution report card
  • Customization options galore
  • +/- Camera angle is cool while running the ball
  • Camera angle limits ability to pass
  • Scoring is more luck than skill
  • Cursing is the most fun I had with the game
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Backbreaker