More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Black Sigil: Blade of the Exiled Review

KevinS By:
KevinS
07/22/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Graffiti Entertainment 
DEVELOPER Studio Archcraft 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Mild Fantasy Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

Exiled for a reason.


In my short time writing reviews for Game Revolution, I've learned something about myself: I have a serious soft spot in my heart for "bad games". They, in a weird way, give me hope... that thought that "Wow, somebody actually green-lighted this... thing" makes me think whatever I, or the fantasy game designer within me, might create is totally viable. That, and I like being able to "Mystery Science Theater" something in my favorite hobby.

click to enlargeAnd to that, I say thank you, makers of Black Sigil.

Just reading the back of the packaging has me confused... how the hell does having a bad guy - with no magic at all - scare anyone? "Oh noez, he has no spells! So... throw fireballs at him, see if that works?" You play the role of Kairu, a young man without magic in a world of magicians. To put it bluntly... everyone (except your gifted sister) hates you. And wants you dead.

Really... Your lack of magic scares people to death. If you don't understand, that's fine... I'm still confused as well.

click to enlargeThe game looks so much like it wants to be compared to Chrono Trigger I was tempted to, but the writing simply isn't up to snuff. Bland, static characters and some of the most boring dialogue I have ever been asked to sit through soaks the potentially interesting storyline in high-grade arsenic. The only character with any... character... is Aurora, and she's the same “spunky” female character that permeates every JRPG ever. If she wasn't in there, there would be an uproar, though I doubt too many players will be complaining, because if they've got their system open and are playing this, they're likely passed out asleep from boredom.

Black Sigil was developed originally for the Game Boy Advance, and that is made painfully obvious in its presentation. The game is very reminiscent of SNES RPGs, which the GBA did really well, but even so, it's trying hard to be something of a Final Fantasy III / VI or Chrono Trigger, and just fumbles over itself. Not "classic", not "retro"... outdated. The bulk of this game could have very well been made using the tools in RPG Maker on the PSOne.

click to enlargeAnd the battles – the lifeblood of every great RPG – are about as slow as Duke Nukem ForNever Forever's dev cycle. No tension at all. Each fight is slow and tedious, mixing the standard RPG-menu battle system with a stunted real-time element that's supposed to keep the player engaged. Each character has to wait roughly ten seconds between attacks, and apparently so does each enemy on screen; they don't attack often, and neither do you. In practice, it's about as enthralling as watching ice cream melt on the sidewalk. But even then, watching which way the cream runoff migrates would be more captivating than slugging through the fighting. Even the bosses seem to slog on for too long and are just so uninspired. Wow, another generic beast to fight, and he's a lot bigger than me... *yawn, stab, collect gold and level up*.

When there are so many great role-playing games on the DS floating around now – Lunar, the various Final Fantasies, Dragon Quest, even Guadia Quest in the Retro Game Challenge – I don't know how this one will find a niche. It's just so not remarkable, so bland, so... not interesting... you get what I'm saying. Slow and lame, that's what I'm saying.
D+ Revolution report card
  • Unique story angle
  • Looks like a mediocre GBA game
  • Boring writing
  • Slow battle system
  • Uniquely bland
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Black Sigil: Blade of the Exiled