More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Blade Review

By:
Joe_Nash
01/01/01
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Animated Blood and Gore, Animated Violence

What do these ratings mean?

I Wear My Sunglasses At Night...And Day...And To Sleep...And...

About a million years ago, a great action movie titled Blade was released. A million years (more like 3-yrs) is a long time to wait to capitalize on a popular movie, so when I became aware of this game's release I asked, "Why now?" Then after playing I simply asked, "Why?"

Blade is dark. Not dark as in "evil" or dark as in Wesley Snipes' complexion. I mean dark as in "can't see my hand in front of my face" dark. My first instinct when starting this game was to adjust the brightness of my T.V. I did so, and the scene in front of me failed to improve. Instead of complaining, I remembered that Blade never takes his shades off, so technically, I was seeing things like he would. Or wouldn't, in this case. Honestly, even with brighter visuals, the lackluster gameplay places this one straight in the recycle bin.

You play as Blade, vampire killer. Your mission? Kill all bloodsuckers! The game takes place before the movie, so his trusty partner Whistler, who died on camera, assists Blade in the game. Whistler guides you through your various tasks via headset radio, Solid Snake style. The banter between Whistler and Blade is amusing and surprisingly well-acted considering neither Wesley Snipes nor Kris Kristofferson are involved. I'm pretty sure they could have gotten Kris pretty cheap, though.

The game is your basic third-person action adventure with the camera trailing along just behind the shoulder. The graphics are actually pretty decent...until motion is applied. The framerate chugs along slowly and gets even slower whenever more than one enemy is encountered. Remember, vampires run in packs, so you can probably imagine this game has more slow-motion fight scenes than a Van Damme movie.

Blade isn't one to discriminate. Not only does he lay the smack down on vampire lords and zombies, but he also knocks off their human lackeys with punches, kicks, bullets, and, of course, blades. Which brings me to the next problem.

Fighting multiple species of attackers in this game is an exercise in frustration, not only because the controls are anti-intuitive, but because certain weapons only kill certain enemies. Sure, you can shoot all kinds of holes in a vampire, but you better have the right ammo if you want him dead. So get used to switching up your ammunitions real quick, because enemies rarely travel alone and it's not uncommon to have to deal with three different species simultaneously while trying to cycle through the appropriate weapons. This is true to the Blade movie/Marvel Comics mythos, but incessantly annoying as a gameplay element.

To its credit, there is quite a bit of brutal hack and slash going on. If you're just looking for an outlet for your aggression, Blade does the trick...barely.

When you add in the fact that the camera seems to have a mind of it's own, then factor in the slowdown, compounded with the fact that you can barely see your opponents because it's so freakishly dark, you have to wonder why you're wasting time on this painfully inadequate, near crap game. You could just play The Crow: City of Angels. That's 100% crap , with no additives or preservatives.

To top things off, the sound effects are nothing to scream about and the generic techno music blaring throughout the game quickly becomes annoying.

There is nothing here to justify Blade's development. Every aspect of this game, from graphics to gameplay, has been done before, only better. If you are a big fan of the movie, then by all means buy it. The movie I mean. You wouldn't like this game if you were The Daywalker himself.



D+ Revolution report card
  • Faithful to the character
  • Lots of death and dismemberment
  • Counter-intuitive controls
  • Blade isn't equipped with a flashlight
  • License based on a movie older than I am
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Blade