More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Borderlands: Claptrap's New Robot Revolution Review

Blake_Morse By:
Blake_Morse
10/07/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Gearbox Software 
DEVELOPER 2K Games 
RELEASE DATE  
M What do these ratings mean?

I'm afraid I can't do that, Dave.


This is it. It's time for one last ride along the plains of Borderlands' harsh planet Pandora before we begin the long wait for the inevitable Borderlands 2, and they're going out with a bang, and some clanks, whirrs, buzzes, and clinks from everyone's favorite cyber-whipping boy, the Claptrap. Only this time they're sick and tired of being the focus of everyone's aggression, and one plucky little bot has taken to the streets with his own manifesto, better known as Claptrap's New Robot Revolution.

click to enlargeOur intrepid little robot friend has been hard at work too, converting just about every enemy you've encountered in the game thus far into a Clap-ified version of their former selves. While it does add some variety and humor to the DLC, for the most part these are still the same baddies you've been taking down since the pre-DLC game. Cyber-skaggs may look cool and their name might sound like an STD you get from the Internet, but underneath all the wires and metal plates, they're still just skaggs.

The real variety comes from the newest enemy: the claptraps themselves. Whether you're pitying a robot fu done up like Mr. T, or plucking the feathers off the cluck-trap, you can't help but be amused at the colorful renditions of these previously whiny, wussy bots. And it's great in and of itself that you can finally kill these little fucks. I've been wanting to shoot them for so long that I don't want to stop.

Boss fights have come a long way since the disappointing tentacled vagina monsters of the pre-DLC Pandora. Many of them harken back to the more enjoyable battles of the past, that is due in no small part to many of the cyber versions of enemies you've already encountered along the way. That doesn't mean you won't meet anyone new and interesting (and blow them up). In fact, the final boss is probably the most epic thing you're ever gonna face in Borderlands, and not just because it's the last thing that will ever come out for one. Without giving too much away, you should be very pleased with your final reward.

click to enlargeThere are a few glitches, though, such as AI characters being out of sync with their voice-overs or just plain staring at you as words magically fly through the ether. And some of the recycled missions aren't really the best choice, like having to collect hundreds of brains claptrap parts several times throughout the episode. But all in all, this is a great last hurrah for the title and even drops hints at a few things we might see in the sequel.

If you've stuck it out this long, then you're going to want to join the revolution, as it's definitely a good way to say goodbye to Pandora and the Borderlands-verse... at least for now.
B Revolution report card
  • Everyone's doing the Robot
  • Final boss epicness
  • Mad lootz
  • Most enemies just reskinned
  • Glitches in the matrix
  • Recycled missions
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Borderlands: Claptrap's New Robot Revolution
Also known as: borderland robot revolution


More On GameRevolution