More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Borderlands: The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned Review

Blake_Morse By:
Blake_Morse
11/30/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER 2K Games 
DEVELOPER 2K Games 
RELEASE DATE  
M What do these ratings mean?

Dr. Moreau ain't got nothing on me.


The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned is the first installment in what will hopefully be a long line of downloadable content for the highly enjoyable Diablo-esque FPS, Borderlands. This Halloween-themed zombie-laden DLC is here just in time for... Thanksgiving?!?! Okay, so maybe it seems a little late (or very early for next year), but zombies are always in season as far as I'm concerned.

click to enlargeYou could almost think of this as a Left 4 Dead mod for the game. There are a lot of similarities between some of the enemies you'll face and those from the EA franchise. Such as the Defiler who projectile vomits all over you, slowing you down to a crawl and making you easy pickins' for his less talented undead cousins. That, of course, is on top of some very unique creatures, like my personal favorite, the Loot Goon, a giant Frankenstein of a monster who carries a weapons chest on his back that usually has some rare weapons to add to your arsenal. There are also some very impressive bosses thrown in to the mix. I'd even venture so far as to say that I actually enjoyed the final battle of this DLC almost more than the final boss in the main game.

Along with all the new living and less-living enemies, you'll get a very humorous little story with an intro movie that actually had me laughing out loud (no, really, I LOL'ed). In fact, I'm sure some would argue that the plot of Dr. Ned is actually a little more fleshed out than that of the main game. There's actually spoken dialogue and interaction with just about every new character that pops up rather than the main game's walls-of-text.

At $10 or whatever that translates to in Microsoft fun money, you're looking at at least another eight hours of gameplay (maybe more if you don't work on the brain-hunting missions while doing all the other ones). At that price, Zombie Island just may be the perfect place for your next vacation, and for your next level up too. I went from being a level 40 Hunter to level 46 while playing through the new missions available. It arrived just in time too, as I was starting to lose interest in my second playthrough. If you're still playing or are looking to reach that level cap with something a bit more engaging than grinding, I suggest you check it out.
A- Revolution report card
  • More Borderlands Fun
  • Zombies and Loot Goons
  • Humorous Plot
  • Good value for $10
  • Halloween was a month ago
  • The same problems that Borderlands already has
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Borderlands: The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned
Also known as: Borderlands The Zombie Island of Dr Ned