More Reviews
REVIEWS The Last of Us Remastered Review
Sony and Naughty Dog have revisited the PlayStation 3 opus to bring an enhanced vision of the game to PlayStation 4, but should you return to Joel and Ellie’s story so soon?

God of War Collection (Vita) Review
God of War brings its PS2 heritage to Vita, and the results are more than a bit baffling.
More Previews
PREVIEWS UemeU Preview
Giving the power to the players to build the games they want to play, UemeU opens up the sandbox to a larger degree than previous games, with intuitive tools, cooperative building, and very few restrictions.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

MotoGP 14
Release date: 09/01/14


LATEST FEATURES Buy, Try, or Die: August 2014 Release List
Sacred 3, Disgaea 4, inFamous: First Light, Madden NFL 15—what will you Buy, what will you Try, and what needs to Die?

The Best Cosplay of Comic-Con 2014
Comic-Con is the premier convention for cosplayers, and we've got more than a hundred shots this year. Which are your favorites?
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oneshotstop
Call of Duty will never be the same
By oneshotstop
Posted on 07/28/14
       We've all been there. Everyone remembers that mission. You and your partner are climbing up the mountains in the snow, striving to pull some slick clandestine operation about getting some intel on a bad guy, or something similar (because let's face...

Borderlands: The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned Review

Blake_Morse By:
Blake_Morse
11/30/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER 2K Games 
DEVELOPER 2K Games 
RELEASE DATE  
M What do these ratings mean?

Dr. Moreau ain't got nothing on me.


The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned is the first installment in what will hopefully be a long line of downloadable content for the highly enjoyable Diablo-esque FPS, Borderlands. This Halloween-themed zombie-laden DLC is here just in time for... Thanksgiving?!?! Okay, so maybe it seems a little late (or very early for next year), but zombies are always in season as far as I'm concerned.

click to enlargeYou could almost think of this as a Left 4 Dead mod for the game. There are a lot of similarities between some of the enemies you'll face and those from the EA franchise. Such as the Defiler who projectile vomits all over you, slowing you down to a crawl and making you easy pickins' for his less talented undead cousins. That, of course, is on top of some very unique creatures, like my personal favorite, the Loot Goon, a giant Frankenstein of a monster who carries a weapons chest on his back that usually has some rare weapons to add to your arsenal. There are also some very impressive bosses thrown in to the mix. I'd even venture so far as to say that I actually enjoyed the final battle of this DLC almost more than the final boss in the main game.

Along with all the new living and less-living enemies, you'll get a very humorous little story with an intro movie that actually had me laughing out loud (no, really, I LOL'ed). In fact, I'm sure some would argue that the plot of Dr. Ned is actually a little more fleshed out than that of the main game. There's actually spoken dialogue and interaction with just about every new character that pops up rather than the main game's walls-of-text.

At $10 or whatever that translates to in Microsoft fun money, you're looking at at least another eight hours of gameplay (maybe more if you don't work on the brain-hunting missions while doing all the other ones). At that price, Zombie Island just may be the perfect place for your next vacation, and for your next level up too. I went from being a level 40 Hunter to level 46 while playing through the new missions available. It arrived just in time too, as I was starting to lose interest in my second playthrough. If you're still playing or are looking to reach that level cap with something a bit more engaging than grinding, I suggest you check it out.
A- Revolution report card
  • More Borderlands Fun
  • Zombies and Loot Goons
  • Humorous Plot
  • Good value for $10
  • Halloween was a month ago
  • The same problems that Borderlands already has
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Borderlands: The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned
Also known as: Borderlands The Zombie Island of Dr Ned


More On GameRevolution