More Reviews
REVIEWS Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...

Murasaki Baby Review
When a little girl with an upside-down face finds a balloon, you better protect it from monsters!
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Borderlands: The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned Review

Blake_Morse By:
Blake_Morse
11/30/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER 2K Games 
DEVELOPER 2K Games 
RELEASE DATE  
M What do these ratings mean?

Dr. Moreau ain't got nothing on me.


The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned is the first installment in what will hopefully be a long line of downloadable content for the highly enjoyable Diablo-esque FPS, Borderlands. This Halloween-themed zombie-laden DLC is here just in time for... Thanksgiving?!?! Okay, so maybe it seems a little late (or very early for next year), but zombies are always in season as far as I'm concerned.

click to enlargeYou could almost think of this as a Left 4 Dead mod for the game. There are a lot of similarities between some of the enemies you'll face and those from the EA franchise. Such as the Defiler who projectile vomits all over you, slowing you down to a crawl and making you easy pickins' for his less talented undead cousins. That, of course, is on top of some very unique creatures, like my personal favorite, the Loot Goon, a giant Frankenstein of a monster who carries a weapons chest on his back that usually has some rare weapons to add to your arsenal. There are also some very impressive bosses thrown in to the mix. I'd even venture so far as to say that I actually enjoyed the final battle of this DLC almost more than the final boss in the main game.

Along with all the new living and less-living enemies, you'll get a very humorous little story with an intro movie that actually had me laughing out loud (no, really, I LOL'ed). In fact, I'm sure some would argue that the plot of Dr. Ned is actually a little more fleshed out than that of the main game. There's actually spoken dialogue and interaction with just about every new character that pops up rather than the main game's walls-of-text.

At $10 or whatever that translates to in Microsoft fun money, you're looking at at least another eight hours of gameplay (maybe more if you don't work on the brain-hunting missions while doing all the other ones). At that price, Zombie Island just may be the perfect place for your next vacation, and for your next level up too. I went from being a level 40 Hunter to level 46 while playing through the new missions available. It arrived just in time too, as I was starting to lose interest in my second playthrough. If you're still playing or are looking to reach that level cap with something a bit more engaging than grinding, I suggest you check it out.
A- Revolution report card
  • More Borderlands Fun
  • Zombies and Loot Goons
  • Humorous Plot
  • Good value for $10
  • Halloween was a month ago
  • The same problems that Borderlands already has
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Borderlands: The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned
Also known as: Borderlands The Zombie Island of Dr Ned


More On GameRevolution