More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Castlevania: The Adventure ReBirth Review

Eduardo_Reboucas By:
Eduardo_Reboucas
01/26/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Platformer 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER Konami 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Animated Blood, Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Storming the castle again.


I still don't get the doubly-capitalized monicker "ReBirth" that Konami has been giving its retro-inspired downloadable games (Gradius ReBirth, Contra ReBirth), but since I already beat that horse to death, saw it become undead, and then beat it to death again, I'll refrain from that. Castlevania: The Adventure ReBirth is the latest in the series, and while it isn't as good as I'd hoped it'd be, it's certainly the best of the three.

click to enlargeCastlevania: The Adventure ReBirth is a completely new game that takes a cooking pot approach, taking some of the better gameplay novelties of the old school Castlevania games of the 8- and 16-bit generations. That goes all the way to the plot: You're a vampire hunter of the Belmont clan, you got a whip, Dracula is alive, his castle is back, and off you go with not much of a story to consider. Taking into account the newer games in the series, it's not much of a loss.

Sadly, a lot of what made the first 16-bit gameplay in Super Castlevania IV awesome didn't make the cut in ReBirth. Gone is the eight-way directional whipping, grappling, and climbing, in favor of a system that would feel right at home on the NES. That's not to say the game is completely devoid of additions to the traditional Castlevania gameplay, but the additions here are overpowered and unnecessary, like how your whip can be upgraded to the point of shooting laser balls from its tip, a la Zelda, for a limited time.

By claiming that a few things feel unnecessary, I don't mean to say everything that is new in ReBirth is bad or that it feels out of place. The platforming formula comes with a few twists, like branching paths between levels and the oh-so loved locked doors that require a bit of backtracking between screens. In terms of levels, the six stages you are bound to hit your head against are challenging and long, some being more like mazes than straight left-to-right side-scrollers, with every single one of them culminates into a boss fight. The boss fights are one of the game's high points, some of which rival the old school series' best encounters.

click to enlargeIn terms of difficulty, you can sure thank Konami for taking the same approach it did with Contra ReBirth. There are a host of difficulty options to choose from, and for most, the continues are in infinite supply, which makes finishing the game less of an impossible ordeal but nonetheless challenging. You also get two control options which vary the gameplay slightly, one keeping the character movement exactly like the NES games with no control during a jump, and the other giving you airborne control of Belmont, which helps with the platforming. In my mind, these choices are there to satisfy purists, and don't really directly influence in the game's difficulty.

As a fan of the series, the only notable downside I can point out in this game is its lack of personality. It's a hodge-podge of parts from older games, which doesn't really give the game much of a face of its own. For fans of the older games, however, there's plenty of the familiar things that made them love Castlevania back in the day to be had here, and it won't disappoint those in search of a challenge.
B Revolution report card
  • Much better than previous ReBirth games
  • Brings back the 8-bit glory
  • +/- Some 'new' additions feel unnecessary
  • Not much of a personality
  • None of the additions from Castlevania IV
  • Fairly short with little replay value
  • +/- Totally want a Metal Gear ReBirth, now!
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Castlevania: The Adventure ReBirth
Also known as: Castlevania The Adventure ReBirth


More On GameRevolution