More Reviews
REVIEWS Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...

Murasaki Baby Review
When a little girl with an upside-down face finds a balloon, you better protect it from monsters!
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES Assassin's Creed Unity Interview: Ubisoft Talks Multplayer, Next-Gen Development, More
Ubisoft's first "truly" next-gen entry in the Assassin's Creed franchise takes the fight to France. Here's what you can expect.

PlayStation Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Sony's platforms always get plenty of new digital software and we'll bring you the list each week with the rest.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Dark Forces Review

By:
Johnny_Lee
06/04/04
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 00 
PUBLISHER  
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  

The Star Wars madness continues...

In the past few years we have witnessed Lucas Arts produce Rebel Assault, X-Wing, Tie Fighter, digitized Star Wars trilogy on video tape, and now the entire Star Wars trilogy again with new footage on the big screen. I suppose that this is really great since I've been a big fan of this galactic epic since being a kid, and so are most of the people out there. It is for these people that we now present Dark Forces.

Originally on the PC, Dark Forces, has been recently brought out on the PlayStation platform. This first person shooter takes place during a side plot to the movie story. The main character is Kyle Katarn, a mercenary who works for the Rebel Alliance as a spy and infiltrator. Your objective is to unravel the secrets to the Empire's newest technology, 'Dark Forces'. These new imperial robots are strong enough to destroy the Alliance and only you can stop them...

Following the theme of Star Wars, you get to use various cool weapons from the movies such as blasters and Stormtrooper rifles. Even the music is reminiscent (if not exactly like) the movie's. Throughout the game you get to blast Stormtroopers and those funny looking guys dressed in total black with the big helmets. Between each level there's an animation updating you on the story and your mission briefing.

All this really sounds great, but when you look deeper into the game, it's just a clone of many other Doom type games, this time taking place with the background of Star Wars. Dark Forces really disappoints in terms of both novelty and gameplay. By now, pretty much everyone has played these types of games. After trying other ones such as Quake on PC, or the recent Turok on N64, you can't help but experience unfulfillment with Dark Forces.

Aside from not looking as good as the computer version, the graphics also fail to even keep up with current standards, showing all the jagged edges of the enemies and buildings. Despite the extensive PSX pallette, there are very few colors. The overall coloring of the background is dark and bland. The movement is noticeably unsmooth, and it makes the player dizzy. In all, let's just say that the game does not appeal well to the eye. The sound effects are simple and the music wears out after a couple of missions. In both sight and sound, there really is a dearth of richness and aesthetic appeal.

Some of the controls in the game include turning on night vision for better view in the dark. Unfortunately, there really is no disadvantage in leaving it on all the time since it only makes dim rooms appear brighter and the enemies will always see you no matter how dark the surroundings. So there is really no point to this feature. There is also an automap that displays the traveled areas. When moving around with the map on, it's difficult to determine the direction of the character because the arrow is small. One other thing that makes the map confusing is that it shows the layout of all the places traveled on the same level. This means that if you're on the second floor, you'll see parts of other buildings even though you're only concerned with the one your currently in.

Each mission is inefficiently long. To pass one level, it could take hours just to explore the map and figure out all the secrets. Then you must complete multiple tasks such as turning on a power generator, blowing up something, and then meeting at the rendez vous point. After finally finishing the level, the animation clip comes on. Lucas Arts could definitely improve on this movie clip. The art is drab and cheesy, not to mention the super low budget 'only the mouth moves' animation. This is especially strange (and irritating) when you compare it to the LucasArts release Rebel Assault II which has some of the best FMV we've ever seen.

After playing Dark Forces, I must say that this game is the very definition of average. There's nothing about it that dazzles. I wish that I could at least say "Oh wow, cool!" at some point... but I didn't. This type of first person shooter has really begun to wear thin, not to mention the entire Star Wars hype. It could be more bearable if the levels didn't take so long to finish. In general, the game didn't have much appeal and I think that the only thing that pushed it all the way through production was the Star Wars label. The popular PC version was superior, and came out more than a year ago. Lucas Arts usually creates better quality games than this and I'm sorry to say that Dark Forces just didn't excite.

C- Revolution report card
  • Story intertwined well with missions.
  • Fun to shoot storm troopers.
  • "Star Wars" is starting to show its true age.
  • Levels are too long.
  • Substandard graphics.
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dark Forces


More On GameRevolution