More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Dark Void Review

Blake_Morse By:
Blake_Morse
01/19/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Capcom 
DEVELOPER Airtight Games 
RELEASE DATE  
MINIMUM SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
T Contains Animated Blood, Mild Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Blowing up like the Challenger


The concept behind Dark Void is actually pretty neat: Combine elements from several action-adventure games into one grand experience. Draw from Uncharted's dynamic platforming, Gears of War's duck-and-cover shoot-outs, throw in some jet pack air combat, add a little vermouth for flavor and stir together vigorously. Sounds like a sure-fire hit, right? Well, while all of those all taste great (especially the vermouth) they don't necessarily taste great together, like chocolate cake and catsup. You see, throughout the entire game there is a severe a lack of focus.

click to enlargeNowhere is this lack of focus more prevalent than the plot. When your primary story arc is trying to defeat giant alien slugs, while trapped in steampunk and Mayan inspired Bermuda triangle, you really need something to back it up. Unfortunately, cut scenes never really flesh out an intriguing story. There's something there that you can piece together after playing through it all, but really it's paper thin and hardly worth engaging. You'd think it would be difficult for the ending to such a malarkey melodrama to disappoint, but impressively they found a way somehow. It just doesn't make any sense. Was there even a script for this thing or did everyone just make a cut scene and bring it into class for show and tell?

Perhaps the poorly told story wouldn't look so bad underneath some impressive graphics, but that doesn't happen either. Instead you get environments, that while large, are for the most part quite plain. Everything is vast but empty, think Oni but outside. There's hardly any variation in enemy design outside of the occasional different color palette and maybe bigger shoulder pads. If you count all the robots that look alike as one type of enemy then there are fewer than ten enemies you'll encounter throughout , and that's including bosses.

Cut scenes are crudely animated and the Disney-like eyes of the character models, especially main protagonist, Will Grey, look completely out of place. It's almost as if they were trying to make a Saturday morning cartoon version of Nathan Drake mixed with a little Rocketeer.

The first few levels start out promising, such as a vertical gunfight on a slowly decaying boat, but nothing ever goes anywhere. Enemies never get harder, and when they do it usually more of the game's poor design that's frustrating you than the encounter itself. What I mean by that is that the mechanics are sloppy, especially when it comes to aiming. The reticule can be hard to see, and in some cases nearly invisible or non-existent (like a g-spot) and trying to shoot while hovering is impossible.

click to enlargeFlight combat is even worse - in particular I found it most annoying when I would inexplicably die for no reason i could see while in the middle of trying to hijack an enemy plane. Which brings me to my next point; the quick time events are piss poor and seem incomplete. Doing what when and for how long is not always clear. Objective points disappear from your screen, your jetpacks propel you forward into walls like you were Wiley E. Coyote, and you can't tell when you're actually hitting your targets. There was even a level towards the end that I beat insanely quick because I blew something up before engaging my main targets. At the very least it won't take you long to get through the entire thing because the whole game is about as long as this review is forgiving.

Dark Void may be the most aptly named game to ever be realeased - with a half-dozen good concepts sucked in, alas, never to be seen again. It ranks even lower than last year's Bionic Commando in Capcom's list of franchises that had promise but turned out to be no fun to play. A little more fluidity, polish and thought would have made a big difference for this game, as it stands though, Dark aVoid this one.
C- Revolution report card
  • Tries to blend genres
  • Fails
  • Strange Disney eyes
  • Bad gameplay mechanics
  • Try and follow the plot
  • +/- Short
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dark Void