More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Darwinia+ Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
03/05/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RTS 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Introversion 
DEVELOPER Introversion 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Life and death in a computer program.


What is it about the fine mix of Lemmings and real-time strategy in Darwinia+ that creates a perfect storm of anxiety and anticipation in me? I'm sure there are much braver arm-chair commanders who don't suffer the crushing fits of worry or sweaty palms that I do, but these players are probably much less obsessive than I.

click to enlargeDarwinia+ is the Xbox Live Arcade port of the PC gaming cult classic that involves the player helping Dr. Sepulveda (or Professor Baldy, as I like to call him) clearing his virtual world of a killer virus. As Prof. Baldy's assistant, you'll take direct control of virus-killing Squads, programming and developing Engineers, and the Darwinians themselves as they take their battlestations and undo the damage of the Virii. As you play, you'll learn how the Darwinians themselves are a virtual model of evolution.

While the story is about as compelling as Programming for Dummies, the art style and gameplay are the real draws. With XBLA titles, gameplay is king and Darwinia+ really packs it in: a long campaign mode, with leaderboards of course, and a varied and deep multiplayer component titled Multiwinia. I was tempted to try Multiwinia first, but the campaign serves as a thorough tutorial for the multiplayer, helping players get a feel for the multitasking and combat needed before taking on online opponents.

As for the art style, Tron be damned!, Darwinia+ takes a large helping of inspiration from the computer-culture classic, even down to the Engineer units who look strikingly like Guardians, but Darwinia+ has a foreboding and ominous look on the virtual landscape. Lots of dark hues and burned colors lend an eerie tone to each map.

While the obsessive gamer will want to eliminate all enemies before his or her Darwinians get on the move, the player is forced to multitask because of how new Darwinians are born. Every level gives the player a starting point where they can spawn squads, engineers, and eventually armor. Squads will generally operate on the front line, blazing a path through enemy units so that engineers can convert enemy-controlled satellites or incubators for the player's use, turning enemy souls into Darwinians. Satellites allow passage from one island to the next, and each level has structures that the Darwinians must operate, so you have to save enough of the little guys to fill all the positions. How many of the little guys you can save determines your Leaderboard standing as well.

click to enlargeThe balance of directly controlling combat and real-time strategies makes the gameplay sing. As the taskbar allows for more units and as armor and gun turrets are introduced, fighting a campaign on two fronts turns out to be both possible and extremely satisfying. The control scheme allows you to take direct control of squads, moving them with the left stick and targetting with the right. This also opens the player to use some of the combat upgrades, like grenades and air strikes.

The camera controls let you look at the action in every possible way. Large groups of enemy units blend together to create a buzzing white pool, and more powerful enemy units have a Nintendo 64-era geometrical shapliness to them. As a side note to the visual stylings, I loved every piece of the soundtrack. At times I thought it too sparse and wanted it to play over gameplay as well, but that's probably why I was left wanting more.

Darwinia+ is the wine and cheese of video gaming. The palatable mix of genres might turn off some players and delight others, and the art style probably won't fly for gamers who need next-gen graphics. Despite that, Darwinia+ offers a ton of gameplay for the moderate price of 1200 Microsoft Points (or $15 in non-funny-money). That might spell the death of many XBLA games, but Darwinia+ is a real gamer's game that won't disappoint the core looking for something new and fresh.
A- Revolution report card
  • Long single-player campaign
  • Varied multiplayer mode
  • Graphics set the mood
  • Gameplay mixes it up
  • Really satisfying soundtrack
  • Doesn't have universal appeal
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Darwinia+