More Reviews
REVIEWS This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.

LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Deadlight Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
07/30/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Puzzle / Platformer 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Microsoft 
DEVELOPER Tequila Works 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
M Contains Strong Language, Blood, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes

What do these ratings mean?

Is there such a thing as a non-zombie apocalypse?


Microsoft's Summer of Arcade has produced some amazing games, notably Limbo from Playdead Studios launched as a Summer of Arcade headliner two years ago. The title put the promotion block on the map and let gamers know that there were downloadable games to get excited about in the heat of summer.

Tequila Works and Microsoft have tried to recapture that with Deadlight, but in doing so they've managed to belie some of what made Limbo so fantastic. Can Deadlight stand up against the similarities it shares with its predecessor or have these brains already been eaten?


Deadlight sets players down in the middle of a zombie apocalypse. The world has fallen to yet another brain-eating epidemic and your objective is to make it through the hordes to meet up with your friends and family. You play as Randall Wayne, a middle aged survivor hoping to reconnect with his family.

While the premise manages to make a few changes, Deadlight's gameplay is eerily similar to Limbo. You'll have to push blocks and leap from platform to platform in order to make it past the zombies lining the streets and infesting the buildings.

In one section, a pack of zombies stood between me and the exit. In Limbo, players would trigger the enemy NPCs before running away and forcing the enemies into traps. Deadlight arms you with the ability to whistle for the zombies. As they charge you, you can trigger traps to dispatch them.


In this particular sequence, Randall found himself in a garage. As the zombies ran under a suspended car, I could trigger a crash that ended in a bloody splash. Other areas of the game have players pushing blocks to complete jumping puzzles.

The similarities between Limbo and Deadlight don't end there. The stark visual style, where Randall is almost always covered in shadow and a zombie's eyes glitter like bright diamonds, certainly calls back to Playdead's masterwork as well.

As a Limbo clone, Deadlight is passable. It lacks all the originality and spark, but makes up for it with an imitation of Playdead's compelling gameplay, plus a few new twists—like the axe and pistol.


Beyond that, it's difficult to consider Deadlight as anything else. I'd like to think we've all played enough zombie-survival games. This one is a 2D platformer, but the same-ish gameplay takes away from the originality of that combination.

The story and characters lack a compelling element too, with hand-drawn cut-scenes that are highly stylized but very messy as well. Environments are deep and detailed, but once again wasted. You can't exactly explore into the background or foreground in a 2D platformer, can you?

Deadlight has all the style, substance, and gameplay you could want, with none of the originality you need. The word "cliché" never left my mind, even for an instant. If you loved Limbo and want to recreate that experience, you could spend $15 on this, or you could just play the game you already own and have a much better time.

Code provided by publisher.
Deadlight
fullfullhalfemptyempty
  • Remember Limbo?
  • What a great game!
  • The platforming puzzles....
  • The atmosphere!
  • So new!
  • Deadlight
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.


FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Deadlight