More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Delta Force 2 Review

By:
Lance
12/01/99
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 99- 99 
PUBLISHER Novalogic 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
MINIMUM SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
T Contains Animated Blood, Animated Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Join the militia!

Ok, who's ever had the daydream of centering the sights of a military sniper rifle on the head of a particular person? Your boss? Your brother-in-law? If you answered yes and have a basement full of military weapons please move to Montana and away from me! But if you answered yes and wish to stay out of prison, have I got a game for you.

Delta Force 2 lets you play out all your military fantasies. In this First Person Shooter-type game you are a member of the elite Delta Force. Your mission is to take down the bad guys no matter what. No negotiations, no limits on lethal force, no pussy footing around. When a target appears, you take it down using every means available to you.

As such, the missions within the game are fairly straightforward and boil down to the essential order: Kill 'em all! The methods by which do this are realistic and devastating. From the puny .45 to the SAW to the awesome .50 cal sniper rifle, your personal weapons are fearsome and realistic. While you can take the top of someone's head off with the .50 at 1000 meters (or through the wall of a tent), the .45 is good for only scooting around corners at close range. As for some of the more non-personal weapons, you've got grenades, LAW's, demolition packs, claymore mines, and a Laser designator for calling down precision-guided munitions on hard targets. All told, the weapons lend themselves to a rich environment that doesn't distract from gameplay at all. I have used my .50 to pop an enemy soldier 500 meters away hunkering down behind an APC by hitting his shin from under the fender. Fun!

The campaign missions are fun to play if a bit farfetched at times, in a Tom Clancy sort of way. In one case my commandos met with a Russian Ballistic Missile sub for extraction from Antarctica. I have trouble believing that the Russians would task a SSBN to pick up some cowboys from America. On the other hand, paraglide insertions, underwater approaches, and pungi stake booby traps more than make up for the occasional incongruity.

The missions themselves are rather ingeniously designed. You are a part of a team of commandos, but instead of attempting to code in a detailed AI or command interface for you to control your teammates, your character is given the 'point' position and your fellows are tasked to give you cover and provide a diversion to mask your activities. You hit waypoints that correspond to your mission orders and that will trigger their actions. Some people will cry foul, but it is perfect military logic.

This is where my major complaint of the game comes in, though. You can choose your personal weapons and equipment, but your teammates stuff is hardcoded into the script and even worse, a bug in the game prevents you from seeing what tools of mayhem they are carrying.

The other complaint that I have is that the enemy AI is pretty weak and sporadic. There were times that I would kill one guy on peripheral guard duty and the entire base would wake up and be on alert for me, but other times I could shoot a guy standing next to 3 others and they wouldn't react when their buddy went down in a spray of blood. Maybe they owed him money of something.

The biggest stretch of unreality that is pervasive during the game (or it might be some super-secret delta force toy) is that you can see every enemy on the mini-map at all times, as long as one of your team can see them.

On the other hand, in what I hope will become standard for all such games, DF2 comes with a headset/microphone combination to facilitate two-way communication with other players during multi-player games accessible through NovaLogic's web site. This works surprisingly well, and allows you to quickly coordinate actions with your teammates. Goddamn if it isn't fun quietly surrounding the enemy, counting down from 3, then massacring them in a crossfire barrage.

Now if you'll excuse me, I need to book a flight to Montana.

B Revolution report card
  • Fun missions
  • Great weapon loadouts
  • Good wingman support in missions
  • Voice over net multiplayer games
  • Inconsistent enemy AI
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Delta Force 2


More On GameRevolution