More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Dissidia 012[duodecim] Final Fantasy Review

Blake_Morse By:
Blake_Morse
04/21/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Square Enix 
DEVELOPER Square Enix 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Fantasy Violence, Mild Language, Partial Nudity, Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

We've been through all this before.


You ever get déjà vu? It can be a powerful sensation, though in the case of reviewing Dissidia Duodecim Final Fantasy, it feels more like experiencing post-traumatic stress disorder, at least for those who had the unfortunate luck of playing the first Dissidia.

click to enlargeDespite having a new name that sounds like something out of a library catalog, not much else is new about this sequel. In fact, you can pretty much take everything I said in my review of the first game and apply it to this one and no one would notice. But despite that fact, there are some differences, although they really don't make the game any more fun to play... they're just... different.

For instance, you no longer get a random number of movements around the chessboard like a battle grid, which means you can now play through every single, boring, repetitive battle available to you, without going through a level several times. There's also been an added overworld map that you can traverse through which gives you a chance for even more pointless battles and adds another shop that, even though run by Moggles, could've easily been added to the regular shop and makes just as much sense as having two different battle maps.

In order to counteract the monotony of the repetitious combat, a new assist mode has been added that lets you call on a partner if you happen to have one available. But you don't always have a partner and their only real advantage is that they can attack an opponent from long distances.

click to enlargeOverall, though, it's the same old song and dance. There's still too many load times for the menus and fights. The plot is still convoluted and corny. And it's still just the same fan-pandering cash grab as before. The game even takes a few steps backwards, such as the fact that you're forced to play with specific characters in story mode as opposed to choosing your own hero, and I'd much rather be a dragoon than an onion knight.

Duodecim is the same car with a fresh coat of paint. Just copy and paste what I said about the last game in with this review with the few addendums I've mentioned here and be done with it. I have no clue how or why Dissidia got a sequel, but I hope Square-Enix learns their lesson and stops the insanity here. There may be over 60 hours of gameplay here between the new story and the rehashed plot from the first title, but it's 60 hours of doing the same thing. It's like working overtime in an FF battle factory.

Unless you're truly a glutton for punishment or simply have to own everything the words “Final” or “Fantasy” in it, go ahead and skip this one.
D+ Revolution report card
  • A few minor improvements
  • But pretty much the same as the last game
  • Two battlefields? WTF?
  • Way too repetitious
  • Everything is repetitive
  • A repeat of a repetitious game
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Dissidia 012[duodecim] Final Fantasy