More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
05/16/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Platformer 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Monster Games 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Take the jungle with you.

I believe that anyone with a lifelong love of video games started that affair with a deeply memorable experience. Maybe you passed the controller back and forth playing Super Mario Bros. with your sibling, or your Nintendo 64 and Goldeneye 007 (and therefore you) dominated your college dorm. We make connections with games directly, emotionally, through our lives and the people around us, but my love for Nintendo came in the mailbox. When Donkey Kong Land was released in 1995, it didn't take long to wear the yellow out of the cartridge's case, but no matter how much I played the game, I couldn't find a K.

As in Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D, a handheld port of a console-remake, collecting all four letters to spell "KONG" in DK Land allows you to save your game after every level, but one K evaded my eager thumbs, decimating my stock of lives in subsequent plays. Thankfully, it was 1995 and there was such a thing as writing a letter, so that's what I did. I wrote to Nintendo and got a reply telling me where to find the precious collectable. While a few notable changes have made Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D even better than the Wii version, there's still no question that Retro Studios and Monster Games have evolved the experience I fell in love with on Game Boy.



For those of you that have been living under a giant banana recently, Donkey Kong doesn't threaten plumber's wives or run people off the go-kart track in DK Country, he runs around, jumps on stuff, and collects bananas. Enemies, moving platforms, bouncy platforms, platforms that crumble after you jump on them… the ground, the list of jumpable things goes on, but it's not the only way Donkey and Diddy get around. Moving barrels shoot DK like a cannonball and mine carts speed him along perilous tracks, now with glasses-free 3D, much deeper into the monkey's giddy animated world. Sliding into 3D for these moments alone gives the platforming impressive depth, but I can't imagine anyone navigating a challenging sequence so deep in the screen. Gamers without an XL screen will have to strain their eyes to pick DK out of the background, but Donkey Kong's halcyon platforming days will find a lot to love here. Retro's measured and faithful approach to a suicide mission like remaking Rare's gameplay deserves applause.

Josh Laddin put it well in his review of Donkey Kong Country Returns for Wii:

It’s been three generations of consoles since DKC left me. I was lonely and depressed. Other platformers came and went, and I loved a lot of them, but DKC could never be replaced. And now, suddenly, it’s back home again…. I’ve always believed that Nintendo purposefully let Rare fly the coop for two reasons. For one, they somehow foresaw Rare’s downward spiral from their former glory, but more importantly, they saw a spark of something wonderful in Retro Studios and knew that the new Rare was already waiting in the wings.

It's true! I missed the Wii version, but my experience with Rare's platformers always leaned toward portable anyway. Bite-sized levels, intense console-quality gameplay, and those awesome pre-rendered graphics made me feel like I carried an amazing Super NES game with me wherever I went. I can't put DKCR3D down, but it's a good thing Josh's could handle the brain-melting frustration I felt playing "Original Mode." I'd even go so far as to say Original Mode just shouldn't have been included, but it's hard to scold Nintendo for including more options.


They should call "New Mode" "Handheld Mode" as playing it feels more like Funky Kong and less like Original Mode's Cranky Kong. Having finished the main campaign, I'm sure I'll eventually graduate to Original, but anyone who says they wouldn't need the readjusted difficulty is a liar. Dedicated fans of the original remake (what?) will love how the entire experience translates into 3D, but I had quite a bit more fun with New Mode and the expanded item selection players have to choose from. Equipping three green balloons from your inventory, for example, will allow you to recover from any difficult missed platforms you might be stuck on.

Other items make your rocket barrel or mine cart invincible, give you a DK barrel for use at any time, or provide you with Squawks the parrot for help locating hidden puzzle pieces. I sure could have used Squawks when I was playing Donkey Kong Land, though. So much of DKCR3D plays on that platforming nostalgia that it's impossible not to think back to that single K. In 1996, I had to wait several weeks for a response, but the developer has taken Nintendo's super guide to heart and even added depth to the system. With each item players can rely on a single aspect of Nintendo's our-games-play-themselves Super Guide feature, which makes finding that hidden item or clearing that impossible gap a matter of interacting with the game, and not writing a letter (or looking up cheats).

Approaching the final world, I realized the personal experience I had with a game advisor from Nintendo would never happen with this game. As big an influence that experience had on me as a gamer, I wouldn't trade DKCR3D for waiting by the mailbox. Where Rare fell into obscurity, Retro and Monster Games seem to have picked up the pieces and evolved the platforming formula to a new level, streamlining certain features and giving the 3DS yet another must-play game.
 
Code provided by publisher. Exclusive to Nintendo 3DS.
Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D
fullfullfullfullhalf
  • Stellar gameplay and graphic design
  • Hard to see DK further in the background
  • New Mode's portable tuning
  • Original Mode's brain-melting challenge
  • Tons of stuff to collect
  • Console game on a handheld
  • Nintendo discontinued the Power Line
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.


FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D
Also known as: Donkey Kong Country 3DS