More Reviews
REVIEWS Boss! Review
PlayStation Vita owners looking to exercise a little frustration can look to this rather low-fi title about creating a monster and destroying everything in your path.

KINGDOM HEARTS HD 2.5 ReMIX Review
Part 2 of Square-Enix and Disney's cooperative compilation cash-cow is ready to milk the series for another go, but does the milk taste sweet or is it spoiled?
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: Out Now

Kalimba
Release date: Out Now

Persona 5
Release date: 12/31/14

Motorcycle Club
Release date: 01/01/15


LATEST FEATURES Downloadable Content Walks the Line Between Fun and Frenzied in Middle-earth
I don’t even care all that much for the Lords of the Rings brand, which makes the content falling under Shadow of Mordor’s Season Pass a pleasant surprise.

Ugly Christmas Sweaters for Gamers
If this awful trend is going to persist, you may as well do it your way.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP KevinS
RIP Ralph Baer (1922-2014)
By KevinS
Posted on 12/07/14
RIP Ralph Baer (1922-2014) I really, really hate writing obits. I really do. But I take it as a personal honor to be able to say good things about the men and women I respect, whether in this industry or just in my life, and Ralph Baer is the reason all of this exists in the first...

Doom II Review

Eduardo_Reboucas By:
Eduardo_Reboucas
06/07/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Bethesda Softworks 
DEVELOPER id Software 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The most important invention in human history: the double barrel shotgun


CONNECTING TO UAC SERVERS...
STAND BY...
QUERY?
/C:
/CD MARINE_JOURNAL_0569213_0021_0210_2135
/PLAY.EXE
LOADING VIDEO PLAYBACK...


click to enlargeUAC MARINE MISSION JOURNAL, 02/10/2135:

Christ! Those fools at UAC have done it again. Damn it... I can't believe they continued with that blasted teleportation research! Now I have to clean up the mess. *sighs*

Be right back.

UAC MARINE MISSION JOURNAL, 02/25/2135:

They must be kidding me...

UAC have dug their own grave now. Demons!

Yes, freaking demons. From Hell. They're trying to overrun a base in one of these bleeding moons to get to Earth. Crap.

Oh well, at least I'll get to play around with a gun some fool named the Big *expletive* Gun. Every knows it's really called the... (TRANSMISSION CUT)

UAC MARINE MISSION JOURNAL, 03/11/2135:

That was fun! I kept grinning the entire time!

click to enlargeIt's been a while since I handled one of those new-fangled double-barrel shotguns. I know, I know, we can't even have a stupid flashlight on a gun, but they've created portals to other dimensions, right? Yeah, nobody cares about weapon development nowadays. Huh? I'm getting a message...

(INTERRUPTION IN PLAYBACK)

...looks like the devil's really chasing our tails.

They tell me they've never seen something like this before. Who else is gonna blast some evil fools? Me. Well, I gotta earn my check, and my *expletive* armor, looks like. See you in a few.

UAC MARINE MISSION JOURNAL, 03/18/2135:

Hah. Didn't take nearly as long as I thought, but man, it was actually tougher than anything I've faced before. Cyber-demons be damned. Maybe I'm getting too old for this *expletive*.

Nah, I doubt it.

UAC MARINE MISSION JOURNAL, 03/22/2135:

I can see things in much clearer detail now. Well, as clear as a *expletive* demon-infested base can get, anyway. My legs are a bit cramped, though, but thanks to a bit of tweaking, I can run until I'm dead.

Everything moves very fast around me... *deep breath*

UAC MARINE MISSION JOURNAL, 04/10/2135:

My mind... I think I'm losing it. *scratches head*

I keep having these dreams where I'm killing hundreds upon hundreds of clones of myself. They're wearing the same thing I am, except in different colors.

click to enlargeWhat's even weirder is that the dream always takes place in those stinking bases I had to clear the demons/mutants/things out of. Someone also keeps counting the amount of "frags" I get. i don't want to shoot what looks like me, but hell, it's fun!

UAC MARINE MISSION JOURNAL, 04/24/2135:

It's been two weeks since my last journal...

I've been having the same dream over and over again, every night since then. It's like I'm in that old holo with that old balding guy, where his day keeps repeating over and over. My head is killing me.

Maybe it's because I keep running through tunnel after tunnel everyday, humping walls, and finding secret doors out of nowhere. Even those demons look funny now. One type of them in particular, a big floating red ball with horns, always smiles at me everytime I shoot it.

The UAC doctor told me to get some more rest and take some meds. *grumble*

Maybe I can cash in my vacation time now?

click to enlargeUAC MARINE MISSION JOURNAL, 05/02/2135:

I've filed for my leave. *exhales* Two days, my friend!

In two days, I'll be chilling and sucking up the rays and margueritas in a little resort headed by Weyland-Yutani! What could go wrong?!

(TRANSMISSION ENDS)

NO MORE VIDEO JOURNALS AVAILABLE.
QUERY?
/SHUTDOWN
HAVE A GREAT DAY.

B Revolution report card
  • It's DOOM II, as you remember it
  • Cleaned up visuals...
  • ...from 16 years ago.
  • The new campaign is very challenging
  • 'Always run' option is a great friend to have
  • Smooth controls
  • +/- There's multiplayer deathmatch...
  • ...gets repetitive quickly
  • Some fun Avatar rewards
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Doom II