More Reviews
REVIEWS Dark Souls II: Crown of the Sunk Review
I was confident in my Dark Souls abilities. Then From Software released new Dark Souls II DLC.

The Swapper Review
One of 2013's best indie games swaps its way to Sony platforms.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Pillars of Eternity Preview
For Obsidian's crowdfunded love letter to Infinity Engine games like Icewind Dale and Baldur's Gate, I was impressed by its willingness to pull back the curtain and let me see the machinery behind it.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES CounterSpy
Release date: 08/19/14

Tales of Xillia 2
Release date: 08/19/14

Plants Vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare
Release date: 08/19/14

Madden NFL 15
Release date: 08/26/14


LATEST FEATURES Interview: Forging the Rings of Power in Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor
Tolkien fans may now either squeal with glee at getting to play interactive fanfiction... or condemn it to the watery grave of Numenor.

How Bioware Creates Romances
Bioware's games have romances where you might save the world, on the side of course.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Picking Your Gender: 5 Industry Professionals Discuss Queer Identity in Gaming
Women from Naughty Dog, ArenaNet, Harmonix, and Gamespot unite to talk about what they want from games in terms of diversity.
 
Coming Soon

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oneshotstop
Call of Duty will never be the same
By oneshotstop
Posted on 07/28/14
       We've all been there. Everyone remembers that mission. You and your partner are climbing up the mountains in the snow, striving to pull some slick clandestine operation about getting some intel on a bad guy, or something similar (because let's face...

Doom II Review

Eduardo_Reboucas By:
Eduardo_Reboucas
06/07/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE FPS 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Bethesda Softworks 
DEVELOPER id Software 
RELEASE DATE  
M Contains Blood and Gore, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

The most important invention in human history: the double barrel shotgun


CONNECTING TO UAC SERVERS...
STAND BY...
QUERY?
/C:
/CD MARINE_JOURNAL_0569213_0021_0210_2135
/PLAY.EXE
LOADING VIDEO PLAYBACK...


click to enlargeUAC MARINE MISSION JOURNAL, 02/10/2135:

Christ! Those fools at UAC have done it again. Damn it... I can't believe they continued with that blasted teleportation research! Now I have to clean up the mess. *sighs*

Be right back.

UAC MARINE MISSION JOURNAL, 02/25/2135:

They must be kidding me...

UAC have dug their own grave now. Demons!

Yes, freaking demons. From Hell. They're trying to overrun a base in one of these bleeding moons to get to Earth. Crap.

Oh well, at least I'll get to play around with a gun some fool named the Big *expletive* Gun. Every knows it's really called the... (TRANSMISSION CUT)

UAC MARINE MISSION JOURNAL, 03/11/2135:

That was fun! I kept grinning the entire time!

click to enlargeIt's been a while since I handled one of those new-fangled double-barrel shotguns. I know, I know, we can't even have a stupid flashlight on a gun, but they've created portals to other dimensions, right? Yeah, nobody cares about weapon development nowadays. Huh? I'm getting a message...

(INTERRUPTION IN PLAYBACK)

...looks like the devil's really chasing our tails.

They tell me they've never seen something like this before. Who else is gonna blast some evil fools? Me. Well, I gotta earn my check, and my *expletive* armor, looks like. See you in a few.

UAC MARINE MISSION JOURNAL, 03/18/2135:

Hah. Didn't take nearly as long as I thought, but man, it was actually tougher than anything I've faced before. Cyber-demons be damned. Maybe I'm getting too old for this *expletive*.

Nah, I doubt it.

UAC MARINE MISSION JOURNAL, 03/22/2135:

I can see things in much clearer detail now. Well, as clear as a *expletive* demon-infested base can get, anyway. My legs are a bit cramped, though, but thanks to a bit of tweaking, I can run until I'm dead.

Everything moves very fast around me... *deep breath*

UAC MARINE MISSION JOURNAL, 04/10/2135:

My mind... I think I'm losing it. *scratches head*

I keep having these dreams where I'm killing hundreds upon hundreds of clones of myself. They're wearing the same thing I am, except in different colors.

click to enlargeWhat's even weirder is that the dream always takes place in those stinking bases I had to clear the demons/mutants/things out of. Someone also keeps counting the amount of "frags" I get. i don't want to shoot what looks like me, but hell, it's fun!

UAC MARINE MISSION JOURNAL, 04/24/2135:

It's been two weeks since my last journal...

I've been having the same dream over and over again, every night since then. It's like I'm in that old holo with that old balding guy, where his day keeps repeating over and over. My head is killing me.

Maybe it's because I keep running through tunnel after tunnel everyday, humping walls, and finding secret doors out of nowhere. Even those demons look funny now. One type of them in particular, a big floating red ball with horns, always smiles at me everytime I shoot it.

The UAC doctor told me to get some more rest and take some meds. *grumble*

Maybe I can cash in my vacation time now?

click to enlargeUAC MARINE MISSION JOURNAL, 05/02/2135:

I've filed for my leave. *exhales* Two days, my friend!

In two days, I'll be chilling and sucking up the rays and margueritas in a little resort headed by Weyland-Yutani! What could go wrong?!

(TRANSMISSION ENDS)

NO MORE VIDEO JOURNALS AVAILABLE.
QUERY?
/SHUTDOWN
HAVE A GREAT DAY.

B Revolution report card
  • It's DOOM II, as you remember it
  • Cleaned up visuals...
  • ...from 16 years ago.
  • The new campaign is very challenging
  • 'Always run' option is a great friend to have
  • Smooth controls
  • +/- There's multiplayer deathmatch...
  • ...gets repetitive quickly
  • Some fun Avatar rewards
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Doom II


More On GameRevolution