More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Earthworm Jim Review

By:

06/05/04
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 00 
PUBLISHER  
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  

He's an annelid with attitude.

Once upon a time, there was a worm, and unbeknownst to our friend The Worm, intergalactic battles were taking place millions of miles directly above his wormy little head. A supersuit was the cause of the all the ruckus, and in the midst of the struggle, the suit was dropped, fell to the earth, and turned our friend, the everyday worm, into... (*swell of music*) . . . EARTHWORM JIM (EWJ).

Now, mean people everywhere are trying to regain the powerful suit with absolutely no regard for our hero's life. In addition to all this, EWJ has developed a crush on a certain Princess What's-Her-Name, who is imprisoned by her nasty sister, Queen Slug For a Butt, with the help of the nefarious villain, Psy-crow. In Earth Worm Jim 1, he battles his way through world after world in search of his fair princess. Princesses are not known for their fidelity and grace, and Princess What's-Her-Name is no exception. She is unimpressed by EWJ's meager fortune and slimy skin, and she refuses him the gratitude he ever-so-desires, but our hero is not thwarted. He woos the princess with his super strength, his amazing table manners... not to mention his tiny Elvis collection. Just as Princess What's-Her-Name is about to succumb to our hero's charms, she is captured by Psy-crow, who is looking for a quick ride to the top of the food chain by marrying a princess and becoming a king. In Earth Worm Jim 2, our hero fights the same bad guys on different worlds.

Earthworm Jim: The Whole Can O' Worms is eloquence in motion. The graphics are excellent. Even as baby puppy brains are splattering on the pavement, one cannot help but sigh at the awesome storm brewing in the background. It's an amazing game that doesn't take itself too seriously. The music reflects the heart of the game better than the dark backgrounds. The soundtrack spans from Irish to classical to elevator music. It's always bizarre, always entertaining. If there were a soundtrack, my sister would buy it (and I'd steal it from her).

But let's get to the heart of the game, the beauty of Earthworm Jim is it's sense of humor. EWJ runs through planets of meat, being chased by a salt shaker. He catches falling baby puppies and bounces them to safety off a giant marshmellow. He launches cows. He dodges angry grandmothers and lawyers. For heavens sakes, he turns into a blind cave salamander who says "TENder" whenever he encounters a wriggling worm. It's all a very elaborate, very funny joke, and I'm buying.

If I was being tortured by some cruel overlord and had only enough money to buy EWJ 1 or EWJ 2, but not both, I'd...do the honorable thing and bawl like a baby. How does one choose between falling baby puppies smashing on the asphalt and bungee jumping with Major Mucus? It's just too painful. EWJ 2 is probably funnier and prettier, but EWJ 1 sets the stage elegantly. In EWJ 2, while Jim is not moving, he jogs in place and just looks ridiculously stupid; I don't know what the designers were thinking. Also, in EWJ 2, Jim can do more stuff; he is now equipped with a snot-swing and a batman-esque shield. Luckly for us, Playmates packed both games together, for the price of one.
A- Revolution report card
  • Control as smooth as a baby's bottom
  • amazing plot
  • 2 long games.
  • Running in place gets annoying!(very small complaint.)
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Earthworm Jim