More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

ESPN Winter X Games: Snowboarding Review

Dr_Moo By:
Dr_Moo
12/01/00
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Sports 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Konami 
DEVELOPER Konami 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Strong Language

What do these ratings mean?

Better wear your thermals.

Having steadily grown in popularity over the past several years, snowboarding is exiting the niche market and entering the mainstream. As more and more people get into the sport, it's no surprise that more and more companies are starting to crank out video game versions.

EA already took a PS2 stab at it with SSX, one of the best games for the system. Next down the half-pipe is ESPN Winter X Games Snowboarding...though getting down the pipe is easier said than done.

It's important to note that this is a MUCH different game than SSX, and that comparisons between the two, while somewhat necessary, aren't really fair. The EA game is an action romp, a high-speed ride down fantastical mountain environments, while X Games is much more subdued, going for a full-fledged simulation feel.

And in a sense, it does a helluva job.

You'll find a slew of real boarders and authentic X Games courses, which you can play in a variety of modes. Four are actual X Games events - the Super Pipe and Big Air let you pull fancy tricks, Snowboarder X is a good old fashioned race through gates, and Slopestyle puts you on a run filled with fun boxes, rails and other objects to play with. You can also play multiplayer in a well done split screen. Pretty standard stuff here.

Those in need of more depth need look no further than the Snowboarder mode, which lets you build a boarder from the ground up. The level of detail here is unprecedented in a snowboard game. You can buy a veritable plethora of real snowboarding gear, everything from new boards to new jackets and boots (featuring real jacket and boot manufacturers). This is the hardcore boarders dream come true.

The Lounge area of Snowboarder mode is where you get a sense of the depth. Functioning as the central hub, the Lounge lets you move a little avatar around a mock ski lodge. You can purchase new lift tickets to open up new areas to explore. You can also buy better gear or check out your records.

Of course, nothing in life is free, and there are several ways to earn bread. You can enter competitions to make money, though the competition is pretty tough. Alternatively, you can set up a film shoot. The better you board, the more money the film guys will pay for the tape of your run. This, by the way, is a really cool design idea.

Graphically, the game is impressive. The courses are straight out of the X Games, and for the most part look right on. The boarders themselves look terrific - their jackets get ruffled by the wind to create a really cool speed effect. The backgrounds are near photo-realistic. While the boarder animations are a little rigid, the overall result is very solid.

X Games hits a rough mogul, however, when it comes to control. Snowboarding in real-life is difficult to learn and hard to master, and the game really attempts to capture this by making the boarding extremely hard. Why? I don't know, since it makes for a frustrating experience.

You'll constantly find yourself losing momentum and wind up a sitting duck in the middle of a slope. Someone forget to throw in the "get my ass moving" button, and this can lead burning tons of time off the clock just trying to get going again. I can't tell you how irritating it is getting stuck behind a house or large rock, since they also forgot to add the "get my ass out from behind this house or large rock" button. You'll literally smash into an object and stop moving. That's it. No turbo boost to help out. Nothing. You're just stuck there. Ah, how fun.

At least in SSX you could press 'Select' and get placed back on the track again. I know, I know, this game is a sim. Real X Game athletes can't just magically get bailed out. Well, I'm not a real athlete. I'm a gamer, and I like my magic buttons, dammit.

The trick system is equally awkward. Boarders have too much momentum in the air; unlike SSX's tight control, it's hard to stop spinning and land tricks. While great for the hardcore snowboarder, the rest of you will probably grow weary of landing on your ass over and over again. Sure, it's more realistic...but it isn't more fun.

X Games is furthered hampered by the fact that it just doesn't feel fast enough. You sort of putt down the hill, never really blazing down the slope. I'm not a pro boarder by any stretch of the imagination, but if this is how fast you really go, then I'll pass.

I think ESPN achieved their goal in creating a realistic snowboarding game, but the result is too much sim and not enough game. A better game engine would have made this a fierce competitor, but it currently stands somewhere in the middle of the mountain.

C+ Revolution report card
  • Solid graphics
  • Good depth
  • Very touchy control
  • Steep learning curve
  • Too slow
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about ESPN Winter X Games: Snowboarding


More On GameRevolution