More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

EyePet Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
10/28/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Virtual Life 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER SCE London Studio 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

No! No! Bad digital creature on the TV!


Once, I wondered why parents would refuse to get their children a puppy. My family has had two dogs and there were never any serious issues. Then, in high school, I puppy-sat for some friends. The first thing it did was pee on the floor.

click to enlargeThe EyePet is aimed directly at families hoping to avoid that experience. Invoking Nintendogs to offer a fuzzy little companion and using the Move controller, the EyePet means no need for paper towels. Other than that, there's little else that makes this more than a Tamagotchi with an off button.

That's not to say that the EyePet is not an ideal toy; it's just not much of a game. When you first start up the software, you are instructed to point the Playstation Eye towards the ground. Children will easily fall in love with twiddling their fingers on the ground to make the EyePet pounce or twiddling their fingers in the air to make it jump. They'll also love turning the Move controller into various toys on screen, like a hoop that the little animal will jump through. The level of interaction between player and EyePet is almost exactly like a toy, but a lot of the fun rests on imagination.

Sometimes these imaginary actions, though, are executed too clumsily. In the first series of challenges, you're tasked with putting cookies in the EyePet's bowl. This is about as natural and intuitive as cutting your own hair in the mirror for the firs time. After that, it tasks you with pouring a cookie from the Move-wand-bucket directly into the EyePet's mouth. This is followed by tossing the cookies up in the air precisely so the EyePet can catch them.

click to enlargeBut the controls make these tasks cumbersome and sometimes infuriating. It's hard to see a young child getting through this without frustration and anger. A tantrum isn't far behind either.

All this frustration ends in repeated swipes at the little creature, trying to take out all your anger and angst on an imaginary, digital concoction that deserves all the rage coming to it. Despite this, I couldn't help but think of how much my little cousin would love to play around with the odd, monkey-dog EyePet creature. And that's whom this game is made for.

Ultimately, the EyePet is interesting as a toy, but as a piece of software on the PS3, it's lacking. Challenges are minimal and menial, though sometimes inventive, and there's only one pet to play with. Frankly, it's boring, but in the hands of a child there are easily hours of entertainment through all the interaction they can have. The EyePet might successfully replace that puppy they've been talking about since last Christmas, but don't expect them to pick up the mess.
C Revolution report card
  • Entertaining as a toy
  • Great for kids
  • Lacking in content
  • Technical difficulties
  • Can't abuse direct the EyePet
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about EyePet


More On GameRevolution