More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

F-22 Raptor Review

By:
Thomas_Garcia
06/05/04
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Novalogic 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
MINIMUM SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
E Contains Animated Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Yes, we can call this "Raptor".

As the first of Lockheed Martin's fighter series with Novalogic, F-22 Raptor made a surprisingly smashing impression as I was able to take off and fly around in the most advanced, unclassified fighter in the world. This complete package came readily available with excellent tutorial missions, single player campaigns, and free, fast, user-friendly web-play.

Definitely the most unique and rewarding experience of the game was the excellent graphics. I was expecting a bumpy flight (especially after playing Armored Fist 2 by Novalogic), but I was pleasantly surprised with quick screen rates and absolutely stunning scenery. I believe the graphics made the game. They added so much to the game-play, and realistic, detailed terrain is imperative in any good simulation whether tank, helicopter or aircraft. The landscapes are complete with fog, low-set clouds, snow, water textures, realistic looking ground units, and mountains that simply speak for themselves.

Most simulations don't spend that much time with sound or music. F-22 Raptor follows that same path, but it doesn't ruin the game in any way. Sound effects are mediocre, but, realistically speaking, that's the same in all rest of the simulations on the market. The designers don't have bad reason, either. I would rather them spend time making the graphics look fantastic and the game-play good, than wasting time getting the whine of the engine "just right."

One noticeable and slightly displeasing aspect about the game is its easy learning curve. Unfortunately the game was almost a little too easy to learn. Don't take me wrong, the missions or the actual game are not easy (quite the contrary), but learning maneuvers, or how to land, for instance, are much easier than other flight simulations. I can't say for sure if that's because "Takeoffs and landings are a piece of cake." (Paul Metz, F-22 Chief Test Pilot), because I've never flown an F-22! But you can never be too careful. The point is, if you want a game that you are in control, every single step of the way, from turning on the engine to applying wheel brakes and taxing off the runway, F-22 does skimp on the little details that the common public would find boring. You might be more interested in iF-22 by Interactive Magic. The game isn't as fun, but the controls are more complicated and they seem more realistic (and harder to learn).

Novalogic also made that step that I've been waiting for flight simulations to do for a long time: dynamic missions. Finally, if you destroy everything in the area, your next mission will reflect your recent decision to nuke the whole world. Mission goals change due to the outcome of previous missions and campaigns follow an evolving storyline. This adds a whole new aspect to flight sims - THINKING! Now, instead of mindlessly sending missiles at anything moving, you are forced to make decisions on who to engage, or whether or not it's worth it to risk you and your wingman's safety to destroy extra missions goals. And the great part is, your next flight will be easier or more difficult, respectively.

Internet game-play is decent. I didn't find it to be the most engaging thing I've ever done in my life simply because it doesn't contain that action packed, close quarters feeling that other games like Quake or Doom have inherently. It does offer two games of choice: deathmatch and a game where there are two teams and you can choose to be a fighter or bomber. If you're a bomber you need to try and destroy your opposing team's base, and if you're a fighter, you obviously defend your bombers and provide air support.

F-22 Raptor is the best combative flight simulator I have ever played. So far, it beats out all competition. However, I am still waiting for designers to realize fighting Russia and Korea are boring, but refreshing, Wing Commander type storylines filled with characters, drama and expanding plots, combined with combat make that perfect "A+" flight sim. Don't be fooled, however, I'd put my money on this one, it's definitely better than all the others.

A- Revolution report card
  • Stunning Graphics
  • Decent Sound Effects
  • Easy Learning Curve
  • Dynamic Missions
  • Internet Support
  • Looking For a Flight Sim, Now? This Is It!
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about F-22 Raptor


More On GameRevolution