More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

F-22 Raptor Review

By:
Thomas_Garcia
06/05/04
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Novalogic 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
MINIMUM SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
E Contains Animated Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Yes, we can call this "Raptor".

As the first of Lockheed Martin's fighter series with Novalogic, F-22 Raptor made a surprisingly smashing impression as I was able to take off and fly around in the most advanced, unclassified fighter in the world. This complete package came readily available with excellent tutorial missions, single player campaigns, and free, fast, user-friendly web-play.

Definitely the most unique and rewarding experience of the game was the excellent graphics. I was expecting a bumpy flight (especially after playing Armored Fist 2 by Novalogic), but I was pleasantly surprised with quick screen rates and absolutely stunning scenery. I believe the graphics made the game. They added so much to the game-play, and realistic, detailed terrain is imperative in any good simulation whether tank, helicopter or aircraft. The landscapes are complete with fog, low-set clouds, snow, water textures, realistic looking ground units, and mountains that simply speak for themselves.

Most simulations don't spend that much time with sound or music. F-22 Raptor follows that same path, but it doesn't ruin the game in any way. Sound effects are mediocre, but, realistically speaking, that's the same in all rest of the simulations on the market. The designers don't have bad reason, either. I would rather them spend time making the graphics look fantastic and the game-play good, than wasting time getting the whine of the engine "just right."

One noticeable and slightly displeasing aspect about the game is its easy learning curve. Unfortunately the game was almost a little too easy to learn. Don't take me wrong, the missions or the actual game are not easy (quite the contrary), but learning maneuvers, or how to land, for instance, are much easier than other flight simulations. I can't say for sure if that's because "Takeoffs and landings are a piece of cake." (Paul Metz, F-22 Chief Test Pilot), because I've never flown an F-22! But you can never be too careful. The point is, if you want a game that you are in control, every single step of the way, from turning on the engine to applying wheel brakes and taxing off the runway, F-22 does skimp on the little details that the common public would find boring. You might be more interested in iF-22 by Interactive Magic. The game isn't as fun, but the controls are more complicated and they seem more realistic (and harder to learn).

Novalogic also made that step that I've been waiting for flight simulations to do for a long time: dynamic missions. Finally, if you destroy everything in the area, your next mission will reflect your recent decision to nuke the whole world. Mission goals change due to the outcome of previous missions and campaigns follow an evolving storyline. This adds a whole new aspect to flight sims - THINKING! Now, instead of mindlessly sending missiles at anything moving, you are forced to make decisions on who to engage, or whether or not it's worth it to risk you and your wingman's safety to destroy extra missions goals. And the great part is, your next flight will be easier or more difficult, respectively.

Internet game-play is decent. I didn't find it to be the most engaging thing I've ever done in my life simply because it doesn't contain that action packed, close quarters feeling that other games like Quake or Doom have inherently. It does offer two games of choice: deathmatch and a game where there are two teams and you can choose to be a fighter or bomber. If you're a bomber you need to try and destroy your opposing team's base, and if you're a fighter, you obviously defend your bombers and provide air support.

F-22 Raptor is the best combative flight simulator I have ever played. So far, it beats out all competition. However, I am still waiting for designers to realize fighting Russia and Korea are boring, but refreshing, Wing Commander type storylines filled with characters, drama and expanding plots, combined with combat make that perfect "A+" flight sim. Don't be fooled, however, I'd put my money on this one, it's definitely better than all the others.

A- Revolution report card
  • Stunning Graphics
  • Decent Sound Effects
  • Easy Learning Curve
  • Dynamic Missions
  • Internet Support
  • Looking For a Flight Sim, Now? This Is It!
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about F-22 Raptor