More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Faster Than Light: Advanced Edition Review

Pierre_Bienaime By:
Pierre_Bienaime
04/16/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Strategy 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Subset Games 
DEVELOPER Subset Games 
RELEASE DATE  
RP What do these ratings mean?

This indie gem just got way better. For free!
 
Kickstarter darling Faster Than Light, the critically-accalimed top-down spacefarer, has been recently upgraded with free new content and ported to iPad. So there's goes any excuse to put it off. [In fact, we didn't review the original game... which is blasphemy that we hope to correct here. ~Ed. Nick]
 
For those who’ve never played the game before, FTL is a game equal parts text adventure and ship-to-ship combat. You'll navigate your ship through sectors containing nebulae, merchants, and (most importantly) hostile ships. Winning duels against them means smartly distributing a limited amount of energy among a host of sci-fi staples: shields, blast doors, lasers, engines, and drones. At any time, you can pause the game to queue commands to your crew.


 
The tablet version is what this review is based on, and yeah, FTL on iPad is a natural fit. A few elements on your HUD will overlap, making the reworked layout feel a bit cramped at times. But overall, this version of the game trumps the experience on your computer.
 
Anyway, the bigger news here (for original fans of FTL especially) is the Advanced Edition’s extra content. The game before the update was already a deep experience with lots of possible builds for your ship, so new weapons and elements like hacking, cloning, and mind control make for a delicious number of ways you can kick more ass.
 
Take hacking, for instance, where you send a drone to clamp down on one of your enemy’s system rooms. It’ll lock down the doors, giving access to it, and at your discretion can shut the whole operation down for a few seconds at a time. Bringing shields down in this way right before sending a volley of lasers at another critical room (like weapons) is one of the many joys Subset Games effectively brings this time around.
 
Some of the new content is a bit more passive, though just as welcome. One new command allows you to make crew members “remember” their current location on the ship. Another has them head back to those very places. This is especially useful after the musical chairs of a tough fight, when everyone’s jumbled up and you want your engines specialist back in the engine room.
 
And here’s a small tweak with big implicationsensors and doors are now on the list of system rooms boosted by the presence of a crew member. On the Kestrel (that’s the default ship), the layout has shields and sensors next to each other. I found myself ping-ponging one of my crew between them depending on what I needed that instant. It means more pausing, more thinking. It means more beats and opportunities to stop everything and make the right call. It means a better game.


 
In fact, with all these great additions, one thing is more sorely missed than it was in the original: PvP. Of course, a game where both human parties can pause at will might test player’s patience (though making “pause juice” a limited commodity could solve that). This isn’t a complaint. It’s wishful thinking spurred by how awesome the Advanced’s Edition’s new content is, and by how many permutations it allows.

Oh, but here is a complaint: I can’t unlock a damn thing in this game. FTL is a difficult game, and I’m okay with putting a solid hour into a run that ends with failure. But it's also punishing between sessions. Your final score won't convert into currency to spend on unlocking alien ships for future runs. It's sad, because those ships do exist!
 
Playing as the Mantis, for instance, you'll start off without weapons (but with a crew teleporter and a few drones instead). Boarding enemy ships to defeat them from within is a high risk and reward strategy—so very different from the vanilla "shoot and shield" playstyle—and the Mantis ship embraces it from square one. Unfortunately, I've never had a crack at it, and the path to unlocking it isn't simple or even apparent.

I hope you fare better than I have. But let's not finish on a bad note, because for $10, you owe it to yourself to try Faster Than Light: Advanced Edition.
 
Code not provided by publisher. Review based on iPad version. Also available on PC.
Faster Than Light: Advanced Edition
fullfullfullfullhalf
  • Somehow exudes a sense of high pace despite the constant pause and play
  • Minimal graphics leave more to the imagination
  • Text adventure relieves a retro itch
  • The Advanced Edition adds four new tracks. Bumpin' as usual.
  • Backup Battery system adds a last resort element
  • Late-game weapons don't seem worth the energy cost.
  • This game is hard! And while that's okay...
  • Unlocking new ships is too.
  • More ship development options have made the game easier
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.



More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Faster Than Light: Advanced Edition
Also known as: Faster Than Light Advanced Edition


More On GameRevolution