More Reviews
REVIEWS This War of Mine Review
Nobody wins.

LittleBigPlanet 3 Review
Developed mostly by Sumo Digital, this is the first LBP main numbered title to be developed outside of parent studio Media Molecule's hands. Without a guiding hand on the tiller, does it sink or swim?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP oblivion437
Wish List for Fallout 4
By oblivion437
Posted on 11/24/14
So I promised that list and here it is.  It's late and it's not as thorough as I'd hoped.  I also wish I had images handy to illustrate every point where helpful.  So, in no particular order - a subjective set of desired features for Fallout 4: Things to...

Fighter Duel Review

By:

06/05/04
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Philips Media Inc. 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  

There I was, at 10,000 feet,

strapped into my armchair cockpit, engaging a fine graphically rendered German fighter plane over some cookie-cutter Pacific island, the palm trees swaying in the breeze far below me and a line of bullets marking my path in front of me.....

Sound a little strange, perhaps even a bit unreal? Well, that was exactly my impression as I fired up the old (soon to be upgraded) 486 and tossed this disc into the drive. At first glance, Fighter Duel's graphics and play were impressing, as there are some very fine qualities to this game, but then I began to notice some of the game's more outspoken flaws, and this reviewer admits that his enthusiasm was dampened considerably. Again, there was some good, some bad...and the bad was definitely ugly.

First, the good. As far as the game screen itself, this is a beautiful program. The graphics are very smooth, both on land, and on the water. One exceptional detail that I noticed was that a definitive boundary existed between the ocean and the sky, a major element that too many flight simulators seem to ignore. The cockpit of the player's fighter is very nice, with all gauges and dials clear and easy to read. The other planes are also pretty, with every minor detail, including the structures and nationalities of the aircraft, extremely visible, even from a distance. Speaking of nations, you may choose between the American F4F and the P-51, the British Spitfire, the Japanese Zero, or the German ME-109. Each fighter's engine sound is also real. So real, in fact, that I got an adrenalin rush from simply opening up the throttle to 100% power. Explosions are cool, and they look how they should, with smoke and large chunks of aircraft debris.

But here is where Fighter Duel comes to a screeching halt. I have just told you the entire game. You sit, you fly, you shoot, and you exit. That's it. No campaign, no missions, and no scenery besides an endless stream of irregularly shaped islands and an occasional American carrier. Of course, your only weapon is the machine gun. There are no options there, either. The player's only choices consist of how many enemies will appear on the screen and also how he or she wants to be positioned above or below those enemies. One saving grace is that the game does have a multiplayer function which allows a second person to get involved over a modem or network and break up the monotony just a little.

Unfortunately, even that is not enough to save this game entirely. Despite the fact that this program does display some excellent gameplay, as a well as a fine interface, a lot of "eye candy" simply does not take the place of complex missions, an excellent storyline, or some sort of historical perspective. For being a World War II game, I found little that made any sort of distinction between Messerschmitt or Mitsubishi, and the ever-present Pacific scene did not help. For, in the end, if you are going to go and create a historic game, especially one dealing with World War II air combat, you just need more depth. Fighter Duel is a great dogfight simulation, but don't expect much more.

B- Revolution report card
  • Lovely graphics
  • Exquisite aircraft
  • Smooth flying.
  • No depth of gameplay, gets old.
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Fighter Duel