More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Fighters Uncaged Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
11/09/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Fighting 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Ubisoft 
DEVELOPER AMA Studios 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Mild Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Despite all my rage I am still just a gamer in a cage.


Launch lineups used to be about getting flagship titles out there for early adopters to spend hours on. What would the Nintendo 64 have been if there were no Super Mario 64 to play on it? These days, with 10-year console cycles, and no new Xbox 720 to buy, Kinect is being called a console launch all its own. Instead of just showing of the hardware, Kinect's launch lineup is also focused on legitimizing the device for all walks of gaming life. Fighters Uncaged does nothing to help prove Microsoft's new technology.

click to enlargeIn the game, you'll control Simon, a "24 year-old Eurasian man who was born in Hawaii and grew up in Detroit". Simon is both a "delivery man and an accomplished fighter". Simon's father was a professional boxer and taught him "the art" of free fighting. If that isn't a recipe for a maligned youth with a penchant for street fighting, I don't know what is.

Free fighting is a really fancy way of saying "flailing your arms wildly". Motion controls have always been prone to this kind of action, but Fighters Uncaged takes it to new, unknown heights.

Training alone is a huge grind. Even skipping through a bulk of the tutorials, Fighters Uncaged will force you to fight your own dad four times before you get to head out into the real world and start kicking a stranger's ass. That's frustrating in its own right, but once you do get into an actual fight, the moves you learn in training won't help you.

click to enlargeIn fact, the most successful move in my arsenal while I was playing the game was an attack I made all on my own. I call it the Spinning Bird Punch (TM): stick your arms out straight out, make fists, and then spin like hell. [Think Zangief's 'Double Lariat' ~Ed.] This devastating attack seemingly fooled the Kinect into think I was some kind of Ninja master, not seen since GR's own Nick Tan.

You have no control over where you fighter is. Instead, transitioning from long range, mid range, and close range distance is relegated to the types of attacks you're using. This system further exaggerates the problems with the game's controls. So much energy is wasted in simply attempting to play Fighters Uncaged. If you're far from your opponent, you have to throw a short range punch to move closer. If you're wondering whether that makes sense, you've already gone too far.

This might work out great for players looking to do some exercising, but there are a number of Kinect games specifically tailored to physical exertion. Fighters Uncaged is neither a game stay-at-home moms will want to play, nor is it a game a child will have patience for.

click to enlargeTrying your own hand at Fighters Uncaged may vary based on the environment you're playing in, but it still isn't recommended. Fighters Uncaged is an unnecessarily exhausting endeavor and it doesn't control well in any sense of the word. it's poorly designed, the graphics look like they could be from an original Xbox, and it made me want to stop playing Kinect altogether.

And really, Simon should spend his time going to night school, rather than fighting on the streets. Maybe he could become a cook or a mechanic. Maybe that's what you should be doing instead of playing this game.

D Revolution report card
  • You are the controller fighter
  • Tutorial is too long
  • Premise is laughable
  • Controls, rather, your body is wonky
  • Graphics are muddy
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Fighters Uncaged
Also known as: fighter, uncage