More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Frequency Review

By:
G-Wok
11/01/01
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Puzzle 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER Harmonix Music Systems 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Mild Lyrics

What do these ratings mean?

The FreQ of the industry.

Every once in a while you'll come across something that looks like a game, sounds like a game, is dressed like a game, but just really isn't a game. The last "thing" I can remember that did this was the infamous Spice World for the PSX. While wearing the trendiest plastic wrap complete with a full $40 price tag, this piece of crap somehow found its way into Playstations around the globe.

It seems I've discovered another one of these non-games. It's definitely not a piece of crap, though I'm not exactly sure what to call it. But seeing as how you've already taken a comfy seat with your Cool Ranch Doritos and frosty can of Mountain Dew, I'll give it a shot.

Frequency for the Playstation 2 is an 8-track mixing board disguised as a game. It kind of looks like a rhythm game ala Parappa the Rapper, but probably would feel more at home in a studio with two turntables and a microphone. The object is simple. Little dots float by and you've got to catch them in the "activator" by pressing the appropriate buttons at the appropriate time. Do it correctly, and you'll be rewarded with notes from a catchy electronica, rock, or hip hop tune. Successfully hit enough notes in a row and you'll activate a few bars. Mess up and your energy meter will begin to deplete.

Two powerups are also thrown in to help you out. Successfully gain an auto-catcher and you'll be able to turn on a track with the push of a single button. There's also a multiplier pickup that will double your points.

The game arena is octagonal with each side representing a certain part of the song. Bass, synth, vocals, and more are all represented on their own panel. There's even a scratch and axe panel if you feel like adding a personal touch. Once you've successfully completed a track, just hop to another and start dishing out a different part of the tune. Basically, the game allows you to play around with the different layers of each song. It's definitely a cool idea.

Frequency also has a multiplayer mode that pits you and a friend in musical combat. A few extra powerups are available, but the point is still the same. Score more points and you'll earn all the rhythmic bragging rights on the table.

In addition to the regular game, you'll also find Remix mode. Probably the best thing about Frequency, Remix mode allows you to remix any of the game's songs any way you like with no strings attached. It really takes some playing around with to get the hang of it all, but with a little time and energy, you'll be able to recreate your own version of a song. You can place notes where you want, add any track you want, and even throw in effects like echo and stutter. Best of all, you'll be able to save your creation and play it back at your next big party. Mortimer, Gertrude, and Olaf will never know the difference.

Average Joe Gamer probably won't recognize the majority of the artists featured in the game, but those of you interested in the underground music scene may find some pleasant surprises. From the drum & bass of Roni Size to the scratch mastery of the Invisibl Skratch Piklz's own Q-BERT, you'll find a variety of tunes off the beaten path. Just don't expect to find any Blink 182 or other mainstream video game bands here.

The biggest problem with Frequency is that it just isn't much fun. The technical details and the things you can do in Remix mode are very cool, but they feel much more like something you would find in a mixing program than a Playstation 2 game. I would rather sit around and tweak the music with no restrictions rather than be bound by the endless sea of dots.

Not helping matters are visuals that might just make you sick. Eight arenas represent "musical cyberspace" and they all look like the result of a bad acid trip. I guess if you were on ecstasy it would be cool, but then again, you wouldn't be able to do more than stare at the pretty colors. Plus drugs are bad, mmmmkay?

Even if you're perfectly drug-free, you'll need to keep your eyes glued to the screen. "Notes" come fast and furious (songs can reach up to 180 bpms) and simply blinking can cause you to fail. In one particularly challenging set, I actually had a contact lens spring forth from my eyeball, never to be seen again. I guess it just saw the opportunity for escape and went for it. Beware, contact lens wearers, after Frequency you may never see them again"

If you're interested in the art of music mixing, Frequency's Remix mode is a good introduction. It allows you to take an active part in the music you listen to and gives you mixing powers beyond those of mortal men. As a game though, this note is a little flat.

B- Revolution report card
  • Very cool Remix mode
  • Not just pop rock for a change
  • More a tool than a game
  • Visuals will give you a headache
  • I've lost my contact lens!

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Frequency