More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Fruit Ninja Kinect Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
08/09/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Arcade 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Microsoft 
DEVELOPER Halfbrick 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

"Wax on, Xbox off."


I'm no stranger to this. I've been here before. I reviewed Kung Fu Live for the PlayStation Eye. As much as my limbs hurt, I was satisfied with the comical, cheesy kung-fu style in its energy, style, and gameplay. Of course, being lambasted known as the fake kung-fu master (Ninja Nick Tan being the real master) around the office has a few downsides.

That downside comes in the form of even sorer muscles and faster heart palpitations after an hour of Fruit Ninja Kinect. The iPhone and Android App darling makes its way to Xbox 360 as part of the Summer of Arcade. For $10 (which is 10 times as much as you'll pay for its iPhone parent), you can swing away at fruit until you tear a muscle or two.

That's really the high point of this console port. Being able to use two hands to slice even more fruit is the biggest improvement to Fruit Ninja's gameplay. It alleviates the difficulty you might have in slicing three or more fruit for combos, and adds to the frenetic nature at play. Even the bonus fruit encourages the player to make a mockery of ninja ability by quickly chopping with two hands.

Party Mode pits two players against the fruit and against each other. In co-op, each player will share bonuses and power-ups to add to a cumulative score. Competitive modes will get more play during actual parties, though. Each player gets their own fruits to slice and dice, and must avoid those tossed up for their opponent. "Free for All" fruits will also fly into space causing games to border on domestic disputes.

Aside from the Party mode and a revolving door of challenges, there's not a lot new here. You're still karate-chopping fruit and avoiding bombs across each mode. Arcade mode mixes in power-ups while Zen mode is all about relaxing chopping as much fruit without having to worry about bombs.

In the end, your experience with Fruit Ninja Kinect will vary. Sometimes the Kinect hardware will fail to recognize your chops and slices. You'll also struggle with the device's accuracy when trying to avoid bombs. The daily challenges are fun, and if you have friends playing Fruit Ninja Kinect, you'll be made aware of their scores when they top yours.

Don't get me wrong, Fruit Ninja Kinect is a good game for the Kinect. If you've got one of Microsoft's motion sensing peripherals, you should own this game and Dance Central and then wait for something else to arrive on the scene. The gameplay is addictive, the movements you make are fun, and getting animated with friends will be endlessly entertaining. Just know that if you've already experienced Halfbrick's juicy karate simulator on another platform, you won't find anything new. That is, of course, aside from the multiplayer slap-fighting fruit slicing.
B- Revolution report card
  • Fruit slicing is still fun
  • ...but tennis elbow is not.
  • Multiplayer mode is frantic fun
  • Every bonus item, fruit fact, and mode is carried over to Xbox 360
  • ... not much else is new to Fruit Ninja Masters
  • +/- $10 may be a bit steep for iPhone Fruit Ninjas
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Fruit Ninja Kinect
Also known as: fruitninja,fruit ninja,kinect