More Reviews
REVIEWS Boo Bunny Plague Review
If you think you can enjoy the definition of budget game design, this one might make you laugh.

Minimum Review
With so many shooters crowding the marketplace, it’s refreshing to see Minimum take the low-fi route through Steam Early Access.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES PS4's Until Dawn Scared Me Out of My Headphones - TGS Hands-On, Headset-Off Preview
Hopefully it doesn't keep me awake... for the whole night!

NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Gallop Racer Review

Sean_Johnson By:
Sean_Johnson
01/07/04
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 00 
PUBLISHER  
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

Send this pony to the glue factory.

If videogames were euphemisms, then I could think of no more fitting euphemism for horseracing than Tecmo's newly ported version of their Japanese game Gallop Racer. The game features relatively few sim elements, shoddy graphics, and a lame racing engine.

So, why is the game a euphemism? I'll explain...

In the world of Gallop Racer, there is no pain or deceit. You (the male or female jockey) start out with not money, but special horse racing points. These points can be used to buy the wild stallion of your choice. Horses are ranked according to how well they handle grassy, wet, and rough tracks. Entering races costs you no points, but placing high in a group of 12 horses will cost you a few hundred points. Why doesn't Tecmo just use dollars instead of points? Aside from laziness, I suspect they want to steer clear of horse racing's connections to gambling. You heard right, points or no points, there is no gambling in Gallop Racer.

"What! There's no gambling and no money in a freakin' horseracing game?" you say. "But isn't that what horse racing is all about?" Dear reader, you are absolutely right. Read on, if you dare.

What is left is a game that focuses on the actual racing of horses. Horseracing: the biggest non-sport behind ice-skating and single synchronized swimming (a sport that was removed from the Olympics 8 years ago).

Most horse races last a mere minute and a half. Essentially, you go around the track for a while, command your horse when to go faster or slower, and then beat the horse with a whip during the last mile push. Is this really a sport that needs its own videogame? To top off the excitement, when I attempted to cause a massive crash in the game by running my horse into the rest of the pack, I was bumped away and the race resumed. No panicked horses, no mangled thoroughbreds, no midget jockeys flying through the air. What manner of videogame is this?

To be fair, the game's racing mode features a stamina meter for your horse, and horses react to track conditions according to their performance ratings. But after five or so races, the game grows stale. There is simply not enough depth in the game to keep lasting interest. And the 'create your own horse' feature would be interesting if every other developer didn't put a 'create your own something' in each of their games.

With all the bad parts Gallop Racer has working against it, the cheap graphics and sound break the horse's back, and send an already sub-par racing sim into abysmal territory. Although the warm-up screen for races feature a beautifully rendered (motion-captured) horse, all polygons go to hell while racing. Horses move with choppiness, never appearing to touch the ground, and the frame-rate is equal to that of first-gen Playstation titles. Sound is limited to hooves stomping accompanied by odd jazz/techno fusion music. Too bad, because the game could have soared in this department if it had featured a cocky '30s "go-go-go" announcer.

The final question that must be asked is why? Who will buy this game? Actual racing is boring, and the real-life horseracing elements are toned down for this release. Here's a message to game companies for the next time they think about making another horseracing game: Leave the gambling in, for God's sake. Otherwise, it's one boring race.



D Revolution report card
  • Good-looking horses
  • Horseracing is not a good video game
  • Graphics and sound fit to be served to a dog
  • Even fat guys from Jersey deserve a
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Gallop Racer


More On GameRevolution