More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Guacamelee! Super Turbo Championship Edition Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
07/02/14
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER DrinkBox Studios 
DEVELOPER DrinkBox Studios 
RELEASE DATE  
E10+ Contains Fantasy Violence, Mild Blood, Suggestive Themes, Use of Alcohol

What do these ratings mean?

Para El Presidente!

Back when Guacamelee originally released for PlayStation 3 and PlayStation Vita, no one expected such a wildly inventive title to use Metroid-esque gameplay in a small Mexican village, but Drinkbox Studios has never shied away from original ideas and responsive, tight gameplay. That’s even truer now that the studio has re-released Guacamelee under the Super Turbo Championship Edition banner for next-gen consoles.

Bringing Guacamelee to other platforms seemed like it was always in the works, but there’s enough new to revisit the game in its entirety, and I’d be a fool to claim it gets any less entertaining and varied the second time around. You’ll still help Juan beat up day-of-the-dead enemies, explore cavernous temples, unlock new abilities, and generally put the smackdown on everything in sight, including Choozo statues that offer new superpowers like the Rooster Uppercut. When all is said and done, no gamer should go without Guacamelee for their chips… er, memory cards or hard drives... or whatever.

Most of my previous review holds true here. You’ll frequently navigate through parts of Guacamelee’s map and notice where colored blocks hide secret passages or new temples to explore, but it’s not until you unlock a specific power or defeat a specific boss that you’ll be able to roam as free as you like. Juan and his female Luchador(a?) companion Tostada can toss enemies left and right, but learning combos winds up being far more satisfying, especially as encounters get more and more complex and crowded.

As I wrote in our review of the original (based on the PlayStation Vita version), "this bouncing-ball style of combat becomes furiously addicting in a very short amount of time. Your combo counter will soar quite early, but as new abilities and new enemy types come into the fold, skill becomes a big player. You can always rely on throws, but Guacamelee makes flashy moves and combos extremely rewarding." Players can dodge with the right stick both in the air and on the ground, but careful awareness demands finesse both in knowing when to strike, when to retreat, and when to reposition yourself.

Even with scores of in-game references to other fan-favorites—Casa Crashers, anyone?Guacamelee’s personality burns bright, though some of it has faded into the background during my second trip through the game. Not unlike Drinkbox’s previous title, Mutant Blobs Attack, you can finish Guacamelee in one sitting if you’re dedicated. From my previous review:

Your enemies will lament their station or… slur their words because they’re drunk. Guacamelee was a Vita game I couldn’t put down. I finished it in one sitting. And that’s my only problem with the game. It’s a little short, but it’s so tasty it’ll be easy to play again. Obviously seeking out every single hidden heart piece will extend your play time, but I wanted more!

The Super Turbo Championship Edition (which feels like less of a mouthful when compared to the title of Dead Rising 3’s DLC) features an expanded story and all of the downloadable content from the first game. That means you’ll be able to explore new areas like the Canal of Flowers, which provides a very lengthy brawl on a boat with opportunities for ring-outs, and face off against a new boss, the Trio of Death. Furthermore, encounters with bosses and hordes of skeletons have gotten a lot easier thanks to the new Intenso meter that charges up with every strike, and then dishes out extra damage and faster grapple opportunities.

While I’m not increasing Guacamelee’s score with this review, it is easily one of the best next-gen games you can own right now, especially considering the price. I know some reviewers don’t take that into consideration, but with persistent cooperative play and plenty of exploration, genuinely fun combat, and gorgeous 1080p graphics, it’s hard to find a better value for your digital currency of choice.

Code provided by publisher. Review based on PS4 version. Also available on Xbox 360, Xbox One, PlayStation 3, PlayStation Vita, and Nintendo Wii U.

Guacamelee! Super Turbo Championship Edition
fullfullfullfullhalf
  • Gorgeous graphics and animations
  • Entertaining, fitting soundtrack
  • All-out combat, tossing skeletons into skeletons
  • Exploration, unlocking new moves
  • Co-op play
  • On the short side
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.


FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Guacamelee! Super Turbo Championship Edition


More On GameRevolution