More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Guitar Hero: Aerosmith Review

Nick_Tan By:
Nick_Tan
07/09/08
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Rhythm 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Activision 
DEVELOPER Vicarious Visions, Budcat Creati 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Lyrics, Mild Suggestive Themes

What do these ratings mean?

I'm so jaded.

After writing a review for Guitar Hero: On Tour last week, I’m Guitar Hero-ed out. This is one of those times when I wish could do a “Limbo of the Lost”, slither my way towards a review for Guitar Hero III, Ctrl-C, Ctrl-V, and voila!, a review for Guitar Hero: Aerosmith. (Of course, I would have no idea that it was a stolen asset.) But stealing from oneself is something GH: Aerosmith obviously doesn’t have a problem with. In fact, if it didn’t have the word “Aerosmith” emblazoned on its front cover, you could replace it with “III”, and hardly anyone would know the difference.

click to enlargeNow, I have to be perfectly honest here. I know diddly-squat about Aerosmith, apart from their love for rollin’ nighttime trains, and the idea that if I’m wetting my pants as I watch an oncoming asteroid, they will provide the soundtrack. (And that lead singer Steven Tyler’s mouth could give Albert Dershman a run for his money).  But suffice it to say, I learned far more about Aerosmith in their Wikipedia article than I did playing this.

By and large, you can treat this GH: Aerosmith just like the "special" Aerosmith guitar that you can purchase bundled along with the game: a standard Gibson Guitar Hero III controller with an Aerosmith faceplate. The only differences between the two titles are the intro screen, the story, the venues, unlockable content, a few character models, and the song selection - all of which cater to “America’s Greatest Rock and Roll Band”. Instead of following a generic rags-to-riches plotline, you follow Aerosmith’s path to rock royalty through a general scatterplot of what they smoked what they drank groupies they banged where they played, interspersed with documentary interviews of you-know-whos.

click to enlargeBut nothing really changes. You still strum the strum bar, pull off pull-offs, hammer on hammer-ons, power up star power, etcetera, etcetera. You can still compete on Xbox Live matches, peruse leaderboards, freshen up with the tutorials, and fret along with or against a buddy in the multiplayer face-off, co-op, and battle modes. Unfortunately, the multiplayer co-op career mode has *poof* disappeared - an oddity because there is a co-op quickplay mode. It just makes the title feel even more like it should be Guitar Hero: Joe Perry rather than anything else. (I probably shouldn't tell Activision that Rock Band: Aerosmith makes more sense. Yeah, bad idea.)

One negligible change is that completing each tier of songs has you first go through a couple of non-Aerosmith tracks, then a couple of regular Aerosmith tracks, and finally an encore Aerosmith track. But you still plow through each tier, each becoming progressively more difficult, until you have uncovered the ending and given your hand an excuse to rest.

click to enlargeRoughly half of the track list are of Aerosmith’s most guitar-solo-licious songs - like “Toys in the Attic”, “Dream On”, and “Back in the Saddle” - with, err..., “other good stuff” rounding out the other half. I say “other good stuff” because all the songs that aren’t by Aerosmith seem thrown in just to make the track list healthier, though it’s hard to complain about “Sex Type Thing” by Stone Temple Pilots and “King of Rock” by Run-D.M.C.

One possibility is that Activision realized, as many of us already have, that a Guitar Hero title with only Aerosmith songs would get staler than musak.... on a good day. It just puts the whole “dedicated to Aerosmith” spiel into question: Why didn’t we just get a downloadable Aerosmith pack instead? It’s one thing for Rocks The 80’s (which serves as a good comparison, by the way) to be released in an age not familiar with downloadable content on the console, but it’s quite another for GH: Aerosmith to try an milk another $60 out of the pockets of loyal Guitar Hero fans.

Look, if you’re the type that needs to download every song for Guitar Hero, nab a godly Top 1000 slot on yet another Guitar Hero leaderboard, or fawn over the Aerosmith poster double-sided-taped onto your wall, then you’re probably not going to listen to what anyone says about picking up a copy. (And if so, how did you even manage to read this far?) Still, Guitar Hero: Aerosmith isn’t going to change anyone’s mind about how they feel about this permanent fixture in American subculture. Its track list is slightly shorter, its difficulty is slightly easier, and its unlockable goodies are slightly less thrilling, but if you loved everything about Guitar Hero III despite its flaws, then there’s little reason not to grab this one as well. Just don’t expect your finger train to be rolling over the guitar as all-night-long as it did before.

C+ Revolution report card
  • Exactly like Guitar Hero III
  • +/- Solid, albeit shorter, track list
  • +/- Mediocre Aerosmith tribute
  • No co-op career
  • Why not a downloadable pack?
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Guitar Hero: Aerosmith