More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Hell Yeah! Review

KevinS By:
KevinS
10/02/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Action / Adventure 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER Sega 
DEVELOPER Arkedo Studio 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Blood and Gore, Crude Humor, Language, Mild Suggestive Themes, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

One pissy, gun-toting bunny from Hell needs to get his revenge… on the Webbernet trolls.

So first, I didn't know that a bunny would be in charge of ruling Hell. Maybe I should've been surprised; bunnies have always been a little… suspicious. How do I know under all that fur they're not plotting my eventual death?  They're like kittens that waynever trust a cute kitten. The smaller they are, the sharper the teeth. And the prince in charge is a dead bunny complete with a one-wheeled chainsaw for a ride and an assortment of guns to blow the minions of Hell sky-high (and then back down again, of course).

With his trusty butler Nestor, a rotting octopus with a top hat, he marches off to defend his honor. Or somebody's honor. He really just wants to kill the bastardsall 101 of themwho saw a photograph of him online having dirty-dirty relations with the love of his life: his rubber ducky. Ernie might be proud. Bert probably feels a little betrayed. Darn my newly tainted childhood!



As a Metroidvania, play is pretty straightforward: start running around and search for the 101 bastards that viewed your photo online. Each baddy is a unique and delicate flower (that you can rip apart or blow up in vengeance) with their own backstory and name. They're scattered across seven different regions of Hell, and exploration is limited to the number of dirty rotten peepers you've killed; each door has a quota of death that needs reaching in order to blow up, unlocking new regions and jerks that need a-murderin'.

The side-scrolling gameplay is fun and responsive, though it takes a little getting used to. That damn bunny can jump pretty high and is entirely maneuverable throughout the jump, but still feels a little floaty because of how long he's in the air. He can buy and upgrade his weaponry to fill out whatever he might need, from a golden revolver and classic shotgun to a laser-pellet burst and big tank of holy water that shoots like a low-pressure Super Soaker. The left bumper rotates through his arnsenal, but when at a certain point in the game it's necessary to find a safe spot just to cycle through all the weapons for a certain enemyit's a bit of a pain.  Luckily but not terribly so, each weapon does pretty much the same on every little monster that crosses the platform-laden pathways.

Little bits called "Random Not So Useful Advice" appear during the loading screens, like "this game was originally meant to be a TPS (third-person shooter)" and "this particular message had only a 0.001% chance of being displayed. Congratulations." The devs even realized the loading times were a bit too extended, even stopping to say "Think our loadings are too long? It's a feature." With a game that moves as fast as this game does, the extended loading does get a little tiresome, but it's not really a dealbreaker, unlike the humor.



Each of the 101 that need killin' have their own death animation, but a ways in it's easy to spot that they're not all entirely special. There are a bunch of ways they dieyanked apart, shot to death with Cupid's arrows, eaten by a tT-rex, explosion via guitar chordsall of them ending with a big burst of blood shot directly at the screen.  This game loves its blood, and while it's the kid-friendly burst of gore, it does grow thin after the first thirty or so deaths. I enjoyed it of course, but the repetition with so many enemies got a bit old.

But what's really surprising to me was the length of the game. Namely, it feels really short. I thought with so many baddies to kill I'd be playing for hours and hours, but not so; I'd killed probably the first twenty or thirty jagoffs in my first sit-down of maybe an hour, hour and a half. By the time I reached the Final Boss (emphasized appropriately in-game as "Final Boss!") I'd only probably played about five hours, if that. When I went back for the optional missions in each sector I ran through about 10 of the 21 in under a half hour, and many of them are simply repeats in different environments. That's pretty lame, as interesting as the different areas look and as challenging as some of the platforming may get. C'mon, there's enough diversity to think up some new missions… at least, some different mission names so I don't realize I'm playing the same thing again!

The Island feature that's unlocked partway, where you can punish and make work for you the baddies you've annihilated through the regular game, is a basic bore. I would've liked something unique with it, but tossing around a few scales and reading the short bios for most of the backstabbers is all that's really available. It's almost a Tamagotchi, minus the interaction, character development, and poop cleaning. And I'd imagine demons and perverts in Hell are filled to the brim with some stinky poop.



With the Island being a disappointment and a humor style that gets stale partway through a playthrough, there's no real reason to go back and play through again. I might pick this back up again later as a mindless slaughterfest when I get that need. It's definitely goodit'll be right there with Everyday Shooter on PS3 and King of Fighters XIII on 360 in my collection: a way to play something without truly dedicating myself. It's a great in-between game.

Or if somebody takes pictures of me in the bath, I can use it to know I'm not entirely alone. YOU HEAR THAT, PAPARAZZI? COME TRY IT, FIND OUT WHAT HAPPENS!

Code provided by publisher. Review based on Xbox 360 version.
Hell Yeah!
fullfullfullhalfempty
  • Crisp animation
  • Lots of fun weapons
  • …that work too similarly sometimes
  • Easy to jump in and get killin'
  • Surprisingly short
  • No real reason to pick up after beating it
  • Humor is hit-or-miss
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.



More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Hell Yeah!