More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Hyperdimension Neptunia Review

KevinS By:
KevinS
03/14/11
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE RPG 
PLAYERS
PUBLISHER NIS America 
DEVELOPER Idea Factory 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
T Contains Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence, Language, Partial Nudity, Sexual Themes

What do these ratings mean?

Slowest. Hyper. Ever.


There are some times that I pick up a game for review and find myself thinking "Wow, I get to play something awesome nobody knows about… maybe even the next Katamari Damacy!" It's my favorite thing about this job, to be honest. But with every "this is gonna be awesome" title I might find, there comes a batch of "nobody should be playing this" that comes my way. So while I might be the lucky one to get the Disgaea-esque awesomeness, I also sometimes get stick with… well, Hyperdimension Neptunia.

click to enlargeBut what's this? It's a turn-based RPG developed by GUST and released in the States by NIS America? What can be wrong with that? In a nutshell, a lot. To start with, I thought I was supposed to be playing on a PS3, and I kept thinking that visually, this isn't any more notable than a Dreamcast title with some hand-drawn anime figures to move awkwardly and talk during cutscenes. Also, while I do appreciate a little "breaking of the fourth wall" and glimpses that characters might know just what their role is in the world they're in, HDN goes to the point of outright obnoxiousness. It's one thing to make a comment here and there, but there is so much here that it's less a calling card and more like that kid who tries too hard to be cool.

Playing as the fallen Goddess Neptunia (that's when she's in full-on Goddess mode; otherwise, she's just Neptune or "Nep-Nep" for short), the goal is to find and unite the four key pieces that will help free a captured "all-powerful" goddess. Beyond that, like every JRPG I know, the story spirals into a convoluted batch of "save them" missions and quests to defeat X number of enemies. That part isn't inherently bad, but it's the execution in which it fails… and how slow/boring it is to achieve each goal. If the objective is to defeat five of a certain baddie, it forces you to wander the small dungeon spaces hoping to catch the right battles randomly. If you have to find someone, reach the specific point on the map and that's it, complete with "dynamic" fight when you get there. It's all the standard formula.

click to enlargeThat brings me to the awfulness that is the battle system. It's as stripped to the bare essentials as I've ever seen in a classic turn-based system, even in strategy; there are no battle items to use (antidotes, potions, elixirs, all out the window entirely) and are replaced by percentages of when your character might use the items picked up to heal themselves. There are only three fighting options: attack with a weapon, attack without a weapon, and shoot 'em (where the guns come from I have no idea). There are different elemental bullets to use, but other than choosing the right one for the right enemy, the whole battle becomes simply a button mash. I just jammed through the battles hoping for a cool boss, or a new item, but all that came was a constant stream of anticlimactic moments, similar to the episodes of Dragonball Z where guys just charge up for the battle.

Combine the fact the game just isn't engaging with the same four or five environments for battles, the constant flow of graphical glitches and the bland dialog between characters, and I have no idea why anyone thought this would be a good game. NIS has put out some of the funniest, deepest, and interesting games I've played, and this wasn't even phoning it in… it left everything to someone with a talented pen for individual anime shots of girls (mostly of oddly-shaped bouncing breasts and panty shots) and someone who wanted an "easier" RPG to play with. If you're a glutton for fan service, then you're already planning to buy this. If you're looking for an interesting play-through, this just isn't gonna do it for you.
D Revolution report card
  • Some nice anime images
  • Panty shots (if you like that)
  • Game references (of better games)
  • Terribly basic battle system
  • Obnoxiously self-aware
  • Little customization
  • Every place looks the same

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Hyperdimension Neptunia


More On GameRevolution