More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

I MAED A GAM3 W1TH Z0MB1ES!!!1 Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
02/17/10
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Shooter 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Microsoft 
DEVELOPER Jamezila 
RELEASE DATE  

I WROET A R3V13W A8OUT A GAM3 W1TH ZOMB1ES!!!1


What happens when you give the indie video game community the opportunity to make their own games and have them sold on Xbox Live? Look no further than I MAED A GAM3 W1TH ZOMB1ES!!!1.

click to enlargeThe first thing to know about ZOMB1ES is that it's an Xbox Live Indie Game developed by Jamezilla, costs $1 (80 Microsoft Points), and is based around a very straightforward gameplay mechanic. On the title screen, it sums the gameplay up as a twin-stick shooter, like Geometry Wars, and the game leads off from there.

The simple, no-frills 8-bit style is welcoming, as is the price, so if you're a newcomer to Xbox Live Indie Games, ZOMB1ES is the way to go. Of course, the game allows for up to four players locally, so you can bring some friends if you think ZOMB1ES are scary.

The real draw behind ZOMB1ES is its approachable gameplay. At the beginning, you have a simple machine gun with unlimited ammo. As you shred through the crowds of zombies and other baddies, power-ups like a invincibility shield, boosted speed, and extra lives drop. New weapons will also drop, and switching back and forth between weapons is key to surviving the hordes, so don't waste your powered-up machine gun, shotgun, flamethrower, and laser beam.

ZOMB1ES doesn't rest on its twin-stick shooter laurels, though, and throws lots of different enemies at you. You'll face hordes of zombies, then 8-bit snakes, then Geometry Wars-inspired diamond crawlers, then asteroids (straight out of Asteroids), and then back to zombies with bombs strapped to them. Leftover enemies stay on the screen well after the background has changed, so you have to clear out all the baddies no matter what. The 8-bit snakes in particular can be maddening, since you can only clear them off the board by hitting their heads. Then, when they die, they explode and freak me out worse than Cousin It.

click to enlargeThe send-up of Geometry Wars is certainly appropriate, as ZOMB1ES takes much of its gameplay from it, but it's more important to think about what ZOMB1ES does differently. Gamers will quickly notice how the soundtrack accentuates the panic of large squads of zombies and other baddies crowding around the player. The background flashes and the music builds and enemies spawn all at once. This small community-created game pulls off this "aleatoric" sound design better than that of most retail games on Xbox 360.

Despite that advantageous use of music, the soundtrack sucks worse than your neighbor's garage band. In fact, it might actually be your neighbor's garage band. Repeating the title's name and sounding like a nasally Ozzy Osbourne don't help, either. The humor is obvious, but it wears pretty thin after the second or third round of playing. The music quickly morphs to fit the changing backgrounds, but make it through enough waves of enemies, and you'll quickly find yourself back in the garage. ZOMB1ES does well with the 360's custom soundtrack feature, so plug in your Zune or iPod and make it happen.

ZOMB1ES is a great example for marketable Xbox Live Indie Games, those which no publisher would (in their right mind) put on a disc and release it across multiple platforms. Yet there are plenty of people that should play ZOMB1ES. Like you.
B Revolution report card
  • Charming personality
  • Enemy variety
  • Indie style
  • Only a buck!
  • Music needs work, use custom soundtrack
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about I MAED A GAM3 W1TH Z0MB1ES!!!1
Also known as: I Made A Game With Zombies


More On GameRevolution