More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
12/02/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Simulation 
PLAYERS 1- 32 
PUBLISHER 505 Games, 1C 
DEVELOPER Gaijin Entertainment 
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Mild Language, Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Why so serious?


IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey is a game for only the most diehard of flight-sim aficionados or the most diehard World War II fans... or a (diehard) combination of the two. Underneath the veneer of WWII combat is a plane-sim that requires delicate control, precision, and actual skill, but who has the patience for that anymore? IL-2 is both frustrating and engaging, exhilarating and boring. Someone stop me before I start quoting Dickens.

click to enlargeLet's face it though, World War II games have been done, and done, and done, so when IL-2 tells you that you're playing as Corporal Wright, you probably won't give a flying fortress. Lt. Duncan and comrade Danilov, the other player characters, are going to fly under your radar too.

The radio chatter is unintelligible and garbled, and therefore meaningless. All objectives are clearly labeled on your HUD and on the map, though discerning key objectives and secondary targets can be a little difficult. Commanding officers could have been ordering me to get them a sandwich, but I certainly didn't hear it.

For a game that includes a little picture-in-picture kill-cam (did they have those in WWII?), the radio static is just too frustrating. Even when you turn on the subtitles, they take up too much screen real-estate and go by too fast. For a game that prides itself on realism, there are plenty of elements that violate that sensibility. All of the on-screen directors keep you on target, but without hearing the urgency of the matter, I might as well be playing Battleship.

Ground units seem like little tiny bugs, and enemy fighters and bombers break apart into chunks. Little graphical touches like these lend themselves to the overall visual experience. If you've punctured an enemy and their craft is smoking, flying through the smoke will splatter the HUD with engine oil. The corners of your vision fade to black, adding to the IL-2's dark style. You could argue that IL-2 gets a little two brown and grey, but Gaijin Entertainment doesn't disappoint on the visuals and they really draw you in from battle to battle.

click to enlargeMy real guff with the soundtrack is that it breaks the experience. The same music repeats from mission to mission, as well as across all menu screens and loading screens, which are just lazy screenshots of the game's title slapped on each and every one. Hey Gaijin, how would you like it if I just went around slapping 'F's on all the reviews I wrote? That's what I thought....

The meat and potatoes of this battle to Berlin are the flight controls, which range in difficulty from Arcade to Simulator. Arcade isn't exactly a walk in the park, but at least the plane doesn't spin out all the time like it does on Realistic and Simulator. I guess I don't have "the touch". With all of the different tutorial missions, it's possible to learn the nuances of when the plane is going to stall or how to maneuver tightly without... jamming on the stick. Giggle at my wording all you want, but completing all of the story missions and the extra "single missions" on Realistic or Simulator is going to require a lot of dedication.

The different control schemes don't alter the mission parameters as much as they alter the way you control your craft. You aren't even required to blow up every single enemy unit from mission to mission. You have the choice of continuing the fight after completing primary objectives, but secondary objectives consist primarily of returning to base and landing. How am I supposed to work out all my nerd testosterone if I'm not tasked with taking every single Jerry straight to hell with me?

More planes, missions, and encyclopedia articles unlock as you play and lend a lot to keeping the player involved. This is good because a few of IL-2's story missions can be serious milk runs, which is just nice WWII lingo for "They were boring and they sucked."

click to enlargeOther things you could describe as a "milk run" in IL-2 include the encyclopedia entries, the old war footage that runs during the campaign, the voice-overs during that footage, and landscapes you fly over.Too  much of IL-2 can be described as factual and stiff. When you fail a mission, the game states: "This time you failed to carry out your orders. Try again." I'd hope someone over at Gaijin has seen Patton, but this is not the way you inspire the couch potato troops.

IL-2 is a tough bird to land. Mediocre and failing audio are only counterbalanced by great visuals. While the controls are solid and deep, you've got to want the simulator experience to enjoy it. Unlocks are bountiful but some missions don't really make you feel like you've earned them. Still, if you have even a passing interest in flight combat games, IL-2 is worthy of your time.
B- Revolution report card
  • Visuals are great
  • Three different ways to fly
  • Lots of unlockables
  • It's WWII all over again
  • Inaudible audio
  • No one online in multiplayer
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey


More On GameRevolution