More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Journey Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
03/15/12
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Adventure 
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Sony 
DEVELOPER thatgamecompany 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains Mild Fantasy Violence

What do these ratings mean?

We have the burdern of words, and the ability to use them.


Never before have I felt so weighed down with the responsibility of a review. In this moment, I feel conflicted. How could I possibly impart upon you the impact Journey has had on me, not just as a critic, but as someone who has grown up with video games and seen them in so many differnet ways?

Journey, a downloadable PS3 game by thatgamecompany, developers of Flower and fl0w, manages to remain absolutely silent, and yet speaks directly to the player like no other. I suppose if I had to draw comparisons, you could say that Journey's presentation is quite a bit like Limbo's.


Except that it's not. It's not like Limbo at all. Yes, the player is dropped into the game's world and given little to no indication as to what's going on or where they should head next.

And that's the way I like it. If a developer can pull it off, letting players discover things for themselves will always be better than spelling it all out. "Press Y to do this" or "follow the compass at the top of the screen" will always be stupid, and Journey will always be fantastic.

Still, continuing this critique of thatgamecompany's work remains difficult. Journey is the best game I've played this year, but I don't want to ruin the experience for anyone. Part of that experience is discovering it for yourself.


You'll go places... you'll... uhhh, meet... Dammit! I honestly can't say anymore without taking something away from your first playthrough of Journey.

I say "first playthrough" for a reason. You'll likely finish the game again. Journey only lasts about 2 hours, which can seem dimuinitive for a $15 downloadable game. I normally base my game-buying decision on dollars per hour.

I've made thriftier decisions when it comes to gaming. Team Fortress 2 has only cost me $0.07 an hour, but I'm spending my own money gifting Journey to a friend since my download of Journey came courtesy of Sony.


So what else do I say? You'd pay more at the movie theater for an experience like Journey. You'd pay even more for a Blu-ray you can watch over and over at home on your PS3. As a development studio, thatgamecompany has transcended the typically meaningless bullshit gamers consume on a day-to-day basis. They've created a piece of moving, living, breathing artwork, that tells a story, and deeply involves players in its pages.

I haven't been more captivated by a video gaming in years. There were moments in Journey that I stopped pushing the directional stick because I was too busy taking in my character's surroundings. Should you play Journey?

Yes. You should play Journey. Right now.

Copy provided by publisher.
Journey
fullfullfullfullfull
  • The look
  • The feel
  • The presentation
  • The others
  • The music
  • The time
Reviews by other members

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Journey