More Reviews
REVIEWS Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.

Hatoful Boyfriend Review
Before this review, there seemed to be an absence of a certain ornithological piece; a headline regarding mass awareness of a certain avian variety...
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Judge Dredd Review

Jason_Carnevale By:
Jason_Carnevale
06/04/04
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE  
PLAYERS 1- 2 
PUBLISHER Gremlin Interactive 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
T Contains Animated Violence

What do these ratings mean?

"Hey guys, I just finished this game in 25 minutes!"

My friend crowed the news of his victory in my face. He had walked into my room, found Judge Dredd, which he had never played before, and completed it within a half-hour. "Well", I thought, "there goes someone's fifty bucks." This game has some positive features, but, for the most part, it consists of a whole host of problems.

The first is the premise. Based on the successful comic book (which spawned a horrible movie starring Sylvester Stallone), the game places you as one of society's law enforcement officials who are part Judge Wapner, part Wyatt Earp. Capable of meting out justice (and executions) on the streets of some Orwellian city of the future, your goal is to fight your way through a horde of android troopers to some megaboss that just happens to be a former judge himself. All the action takes place as a first person gun game, like Virtua Cop 2.

Unfortunately, that's where the similarity ends. One feature that I really liked about Virtua Cop 2 was the way in which the game would build suspense by placing you in a room, pausing the action for a moment, and then unleashing an army of criminals from all corners of the room. Not so in this game. Judge Dredd places the character on a continuously moving track, with enemies coming from everywhere like an assembly line. If you do not hit them the first time, no worries, for they will simply disappear behind you. Apparently it is impossible to be shot in the back in this game.

The graphics themselves are fairly good, but nowhere near the crisp, clean world of Virtua Cop 2. When the game designers promise a "destructive world", they are referring to the items on the screen that can be shot and destroyed for special power-up bonuses. What is really lame about this is the fact that there is constantly so much clutter on the screen, from enemies to wall decorations, that you really cannot figure out what you are supposed to shoot. This is especially so, when you consider that the enemies tend to almost always look like the background.

So, you decide to play this game, and even with all of the crap flying around and enemies coming out of the woodwork, you still manage to shoot relatively on target and pass the first level. The second level gets a bit better, as the two-dimensional characters on the screen get closer to you, but, of course, they do not do any more damage than they did when they were in the background.

Complete the level and there is a portion where you must shoot at a variety of things flying around in some sort of hangar. But this seems like more of a shooting gallery than a real game world (remember the fun of full-motion video in computer games?). One could very well be shooting at a movie on the screen rather than anything that is supposed to be firing back. Keep playing for another twenty minutes and you may just complete the game.

What bothers me about Judge Dredd is that instead of creating something original or well designed, the designers figured that the novelty of the genre would carry the game. Essentially, there's too much to see, too much to shoot at, too much repetition, and too little substance and play value.

D Revolution report card
  • -Close-ups of enemies is somewhat interesting
  • -You won't be playing long
  • -Very limited playablility
  • -An endless "assembly line" of similar enemies
  • -Screen is extremely cluttered
  • -Less of a game world, more of an interactive movie.
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Judge Dredd


More On GameRevolution