More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

Kersploosh! Review

danielrbischoff By:
danielrbischoff
03/07/13
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Arcade 
PLAYERS 1- 1 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER Nintendo 
RELEASE DATE Out Now
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

Try hitting that window with this rock.

For decades, kids have said this to each other, pressuring one another to take rebellion in their hand, feel its weight, and ultimately hurl it at a pane of glass and make an awesome crashing noise. Not me. I prefer a safer game, a gentler game.

So how about dropping a stone down a well and imagining all the donuts and traps it sees on its way to the bottom? Yes, the same people who brought you two women throwing hipsters at other hipsters comes a game about pretending something awesome is going on, but really it's just gravity. Available today on the eShop is Kersploosh!just another oddity from Nintendo, or is it a welcome distraction at the right price?


It's no surprise that Kersploosh! reminds me of another game I really love, mostly because Tokyo Crash Mobs aped the Marble Madness-style games I also really love. Kersploosh! gives players an increasingly difficult set of wells, but one early sequence struck me as a callback to a Nintendo 64 classic.

In Kerpsloosh! you control a stone falling down a well, but in the well are spinning traps, fake-out platforms, and a whole mess of donuts that boost you faster as you race against a clock. The object is to get to the bottom with all of your health and a whole bunch of points on the board. These are kept in a leaderboard and that's about all there is to it.

The presentation leaves a little to be desired, like why can't I go to the next well after I finish one level? Why do I have to go back to the main menu? It should be noted that Kersploosh! is being sold for $2.99 which is not much for a downloadable game, but it's still not as low as the $0.99 games on iOS and Android. I wish there was a little more to the game, but what's available is certainly repayable and challenging enough for the asking price.

It was in the first few trips into the well, though, that I started to get déjà vu. Suddenly, the planks of wood that sought to impede my stone's journey jutted out and blocked the path I had been planning to take. The 3D effect threw me off, but I ducked and tried to weave through the digital trap. I felt the way I do leaving Venom in Star Fox 64.


Despite itself, Kersploosh! is actually an endearing sort of gaming experience. As pure and unquestioning as you can find anymore. It doesn't aim to change the landscape or steal world record sales figures. It's just a fun little game that you can play in between the 3DS's heavy hitters.

I would recommend Kersploosh! to anyone with a few extra bucks left over from their Nintendo eShop card. Its light, exciting soundtrack, crisp, color visuals, and superb use of the 3D effect make it a worthy minigame to have for a few seconds with your 3DS here and there. Now how about a game where you throw rocks at an old warehouse?

Code provided by publisher. 3DS exclusive.
Kersploosh!
fullfullfullhalfempty
  • Super 3D Effect
  • Varied wells to choose from
  • Short
  • Back to the main menu again?
  • Only $2.99
  • Ducking like the first time you played Nintendo 64
Reviews by other members
No member reviews for the game.


Tags:   3DS, Nintendo
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Kersploosh!
Also known as: kersplash


More On GameRevolution