More Reviews
REVIEWS Far Cry 4 Review
The open world of Far Cry 4 is wondrous, but is the beauty of Kyrat only skin-deep?

World of Warcraft: Warlords of D Review
Does Blizzard's latest expansion breathe new life into the 10 year-old franchise, or is this MMO finally starting to show its age?
More Previews
PREVIEWS Silence: The Whispered World II Preview
With its absolutely gorgeous sequel, Daedalic aims to create a mid-range difficulty adventure title that will expand the genre to a larger audiences.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Geometry Wars 3: Dimensions
Release date: 11/25/14

Kingdom Hearts 2.5 HD Remix
Release date: 12/02/14

Guilty Gear Xrd -SIGN-
Release date: 12/16/14

Kalimba
Release date: 12/17/14


LATEST FEATURES With Two Paths to Walk This Fall, I Recommend Assassins Play AC Unity Over AC Rogue
For fans of this series, it'll be a decision based on hardware. For enthusiasts, returning to the brand's roots will prove enticing.

Nintendo Download November 2014 - Updating Each Week
If you've got credit on Nintendo's digital eShop service or expect to receive a gift card this holiday season, start making your list with our weekly updates.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES Xbox Downloads October 2014 - Updating Each Week
Microsoft's Xbox One console continues an Xbox Live revolution started over a decade ago. Here's hoping Summer of Arcade makes it to the platform next year.

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP Master_Craig
Welcome Home - PAX AUS 2014
By Master_Craig
Posted on 11/18/14
Last night I returned home from PAX AUS 2014. Long story short, it wasn't perfect, but it was quite possibly the best weekend I've had this year. It was a lot of fun. If you'd like to continue reading, the long story is just below. Buckle up. This is gonna be...

Leadfoot Review

Shawn_Sparks By:
Shawn_Sparks
07/01/01
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Racing 
PLAYERS 00 
PUBLISHER Ratbag 
DEVELOPER  
RELEASE DATE  
MINIMUM SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
E Contains No Descriptors

What do these ratings mean?

Like a lead balloon.

Game reviewers have the luxury of not paying for games. But since the rest of the world actually has to shell out dough for these things, it makes sense that various companies would crop up offering cheap alternatives to the pricey 40 or 50 dollar 'A' titles. In the PC arena, Wizardworks is king of the ring...the plastic, 5-cent ring that comes in crackerjack boxes.

The most recent affront to expensive racing comes in the form of the off-road cheapo Leadfoot. While it might not gut your wallet, it will probably hurt everything else. There's a reason why it's so inexpensive.

From graphics to control, Leadfoot simply doesn't have much of interest to offer racing fans. For the $20 price tag, you get a hip coaster to set your drink on while you fluff the box for a pillow and try to forget that there is almost no way to return PC software these days.

Upon opening the box I smelled the rank aroma of low quality gaming; I noticed that there was no jewel case, only one of those flimsy paper disc holders. A subtle hint, but one that is usually pretty accurate. It's like the company knows that this game isn't going into your collection, so why waste the money on a place to store it?

Leadfoot deserves little credit in its graphics. The track textures are nice and the sky, when poking through the open roof of some of the stadiums, is photo quality. But that's where it ends. The crowd is a fuzzy blur of multicolored circles that look more like an extremely out of focus picture of a bag of M&M's than actual people. The track elements are really blocky; the tires that line the track are cubes, not rounded wheels.

Heck, the trucks themselves are riding high atop giant octagons. There are flat cardboard cutouts dotted around the track that are supposed to be the pit crew and such. And to top it off, there is zero attempt at creating light-sourcing or reflections of any kind. The whole game reads flat.

There are two kinds of vehicles in the game: SuperLight and Pickup Trucks. The two handle differently, but they're equally difficult to drive. Control is really hard to grasp, even on the novice setting. It plays like a sim but presents itself like an arcade racer, leading to a sort of awkward combination. Frankly, I can barely make it a full lap without a million crashes. The control just sucks.

There's a big Career mode to tool around in, featuring a bunch of events and tracks. A nice thought, but the weak gameplay and presentation makes it hard to get that far into the game.

Well, at least the sound rocks...oh wait, that sucks too. Upon starting Leadfoot, you're greeted with this big Sensaura logo and a big blast of surround sound. Then the game starts and it's back to the drawing board. The grainy whine of the engines could be easily replicated on the dusty old Genesis in the back of my closet. There is no music, so the annoying whir is even more obnoxious.

I could go on here and tell you how the force feedback only emphasizes collisions and does nothing for track elements like bumps or jumps, or how the cardboard cutout people can stop your truck like a brick wall and even cause damage. I could tell you how crashing into one of the prop trucks along the trackside causes damage to your vehicle while not so much as budging it, or how there are no transition screens to make it fun to go from racing to the menus. The menu screen just pops up when the winner crosses the finish line. I could go on, but I won't.

On a more positive note, every element of your vehicle is tweakable, from the camber and toe of the wheels to the gear ratio. You can really customize your ride, and Leadfoot offers an impressive amount of depth for such a cheap game. Still, even after tweaking and tinkering for what felt like hours, I never could get my truck to handle comfortably.

Luckily, they're only asking 20 bucks for this thing. Considering how much gross advertising is blatantly strewn about the game, I would have thought that they might pay you to play. There's even a folder full of links to the sponsors' websites (37 in all!!) that installs when you put this game in your machine. How tacky is that? But 20 bucks is 20 bucks, so those of your with a REALLY tight budget will be able to swallow this better than those looking for a good game.

Simply put, Leadfoot is pretty bad and I wouldn't be surprised to see it bundled with a cheap controller within the next few months. I recommend steering clear of this techno-coaster unless you have friends coming over and you want to protect the furniture.

D Revolution report card
  • Customizations
  • Won't break the bank
  • But that's not enough
  • Weak presentation
  • Difficult to drive well
  • Not interesting at all
    Reviews by other members
    No member reviews for the game.


More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about Leadfoot