More Reviews
REVIEWS Hyrule Warriors Review
Link, Zelda, Impa, and more Hyrule heroes hit the battlefield in this Dynasty Warriors spin-off. Can it stand up to the brand’s history?

Disney Infinity: Marvel Super He Review
Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes adds light RPG mechanics, builds on action, and uses Toy Box Mode to teach players.
More Previews
PREVIEWS Halo: The Master Chief Collectio Preview
Microsoft and 343 Industries want to bring the entire Halo saga to Xbox One and this collection does exactly that with new graphics for Halo 2.
Release Dates
NEW RELEASES Persona 4 Arena Ultimax
Release date: 09/30/14

Alien: Isolation
Release date: 10/07/14

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Release date: 10/14/14

The Evil Within
Release date: 10/14/14


LATEST FEATURES NIntendo Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
OK, so I didn't update before PAX and I may have missed one before that. Let's try this again!

Xbox Download September 2014 - Updating Each Week
Minecraft launches on Microsoft's next-generation console and buy a console, choose a free game.
MOST POPULAR FEATURES The Updating List of PAX Indies
We're heading to PAX Prime! Are you looking to check out a few unique indie games while you're there? UPDATED: Dragon Fin Soup, Dungeon of the Endless,

LEADERBOARD
Read More Member Blogs
FEATURED VOXPOP shandog137
A Letter to the Big “N"
By shandog137
Posted on 09/12/14
I have and will continue to have a place in my heart for Nintendo. In fact, my first console was a Super Nintendo. The video game market has changed drastically since the early '90s and it seems like what once was platinum is more so along the lines of silver now. Nintendo has always been...

The Legendary Starfy Review

KevinS By:
KevinS
07/06/09
PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION
EMAIL TO A FRIEND
GENRE Platformer 
PLAYERS 1- 4 
PUBLISHER Nintendo 
DEVELOPER TOSE 
RELEASE DATE  
E Contains Mild Cartoon Violence

What do these ratings mean?

Why are the stars not out tonight?


Back in the good ol' days of video games, before companies needed millions of dollars just to get started on a title screen, the industry was dominated by the powerhouses known as the side-scroller. Every company had their attempt at brand mascots, most of which remain where they should be: obscurity. I doubt we'll ever see a revival of Acro the Acrobat (He's a bat! Get it!? Acro-BAT! Ha ha ha...) or Sparkster from Rocket Knight Adventures (please, somebody prove me wrong on that one!), but it is nice to see a new character done in the classic style.

click to enlargeEven if they do make me want to impale my face with a candy cane.

The Legendary Starfy is the “story” of a small star-shaped prince (with, apparently, very unoriginal parents) out to save the little bunny that crashed into his life and – gasp! - suffers from amnesia and has no recollection why he's being chased by bad guys! So together with his friend Moe, a pastel-colored clam, he ventures out into the water-logged worlds to collect the shards of a crystal that his new bunny pal Bunston (who also has unoriginal parents) has lost.

The whole package is as colorful and smooth as possible, almost like a "Saturday morning" cartoon, which is good for visuals, but the writing and dialogue is on par with one as well: plenty of "We'll save you!" dialog, so little effort, and just enough irritation. The animation is very nicely done, though it feels disjointed when the story elements are told in cut-scenes - it changes from smooth animation to jumpy, and surprisingly grainy, comic book presentation.

click to enlargeSave points are ridiculously common throughout each level; I admit I'm a bit of a save-whore, but when there's both a "save-at-will" system and a "save-at-point" system, it makes the whole thing way too easy. When the levels are a few minutes long each, maybe eight minutes at most for a multi-tiered stage, having five or more save points is just absurd. Maybe I'm getting jaded in my old-gaming-age, but this is just too much, even for a kid's game. Back in my day, we had to replay entire levels. And we liked it!

One perk is that The Legendary Starfy captures the feel of a classic platformer from the Genesis/SNES era, almost like a cute combo of Kirby's Adventure and Ristar (meant in the best way I know how). Controlling the various abilities of the little star is simpler than the gradual "tutorials" throughout might indicate; they're easy to make second-nature throughout. And with the few transformations made with Starfy and Bunston, each “new”creature handles in a unique way that really does bring a nice touch to the already-tight control scheme.

The environments are nice enough, but the package is plagued by not being anything... fresh. The “I've gotta help!” angle is running dry, and it hasn't been taken anywhere here that it hasn't gone before. The whole game feels like a mash-up of things little boys and girls like, penguins and stars and huggable dragons... it's almost as if Nintendo and TOSE took every adorable idea they had, threw the list in a blender, then poured out the concoction on a microchip.

click to enlargeBut again, the old gamer within me says it's just too damn easy. The only learning curve is in the few abilities Starfy has at his disposal; other than that, it's get from point A to point B. The enemies are bland and predictable, there aren't any platform puzzles worth mentioning, and each boss is a joke. This game is for either those who need a serious retro-style play style, or for those who need something for the newbie gamer of the family. There is some multiplayer, which is good (maybe) for a brand-spankin'-new player to experience, but it's really just playing a side-scroller in a co-op fashion; the entire thing is just fine for a single person.

If you have any experience playing video games, you simply don't need Starfy. If you've been playing as long as I have, you'll recognize the cookie-cutter characters, the attempt at a mascot akin to every game of the early '90s, and will blow through it easily enough... if you don't give up from sheer boredom. If you're just starting out though, it definitely has a place... but this is a Nintendo system, so you know there's better.
C+ Revolution report card
  • Tight and easy controls
  • Bright and clear
  • +/- Thewe so wuabwy kyoot!
  • Nothing here is worth visiting
  • Way too easy
  • Way too many save points

More from the Game Revolution Network




comments powered by Disqus

 


More information about The Legendary Starfy


More On GameRevolution